Rage Against the Machine Releases

Rage Against the Machine
The Battle of Mexico City - Video
Rage Against the Machine - The Battle of Mexico City:
Released January, 2001 on Epic records. (Sony)
Compiled by RATM and Brenden O'Brien

Guity Parties: Zack de la Rocha - Vocals, Tom Morello -
Guitars, Tim Bob - Bass, and Brad Wilk - Drums.
Contains tracks: Testify, Guerrilla Radio, People of the Sun, Calm Like a Bomb, Sleep Now in the Fire, Born of a Broken Man, Bombtrack, Know Your Enemy, No Shelter, War Within a Breath, Bulls on Parade, Killing in the Name, Zapata's Blood, Freedom; Extra DVD Footage: Zack de la Rocha's narrative of the EZLN and conditions in Mexico, two interviews: Noam Chomsky and Subcomandante Marcos of the EZLN. Total Running Time: Approx. 68 min.

"Outside Mexico City's Sports Pavilion hundreds of young Rage fans rattle metal fences and throw rocks at the increasingly nervous police. Inside, a seething crowd of 5,000 lucky ticket holders cram into the cavernous pavilion chanting anti-government slogans and poking their nmiddle fingers into the thick, sweaty air while waiting for Rage to storm the stage..."

The editing on this video is a little different than the usual approach taken by Rage; there is a number of 'freeze' shot still frames glorifying Zack, Tom, Tim, and Brad as they play. The songs are interspliced with narrative documentary footage from Zack as he walks village squares in Mexico City, as well as documentation of the Zapatista encampment. Interviews with Noam Chomsky and Sub. Marcos are also included on the DVD version.

<<<<< back to central