The World of Goo Boards (http://www.musicfanclubs.org/cgi-bin/ggd/YaBB.cgi)
Off Topic Board >> Archived Concert Review and Fan Pictures Forum >> Detroit show and meet & greet!
(Message started by: Shannon on Aug 26th, 2007, 10:38pm)

Title: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by Shannon on Aug 26th, 2007, 10:38pm
Well I'm back and survived my nerves. I was so nervous for the m&g all day and then sometime before the m&g I just relaxed and was fine. I met some great people while waiting.

What can I say about the meet and greet? It was FAST! I had about 10 seconds. I walked up to the guys and introduced myself.....I actually remembered my name this time. I shook each of their hands....it didn't feel like a huggy moment. Once I got in my place for the picture I turned to Robby and told him I moderate the World of Goo. He said "well good for you" and we laughed. Then he said "Generally speaking the people on that board are nice. So you must be doing a good job" **swoon**. I thanked him and we took the picture and that was it. That all took place in about 10 seconds.

Onto the show. Lifehouse rocks my socks. I have got to get that CD.

Nicole has the setlist for the Goos. But we got Cuz You're Gone w/ 1000 words, All Eyes On Me, Acoustic #3 & Slavegirl to name a few of the oldies. This was by far the best show I've seen this whole tour. The guys were ON tonight and the sound was perfect..... John's voice was perfect.....the weather was perfect. The ladies in front of me kept walking up to the front to take their picture with John in the background. He was singing 1000 Words and one of them bent way backward. He said hi to her and then started laughing and commented how he could see down her shirt. It was funny. It was all about the music tonight. Neither John nor Robby talked much but that's okay because everything else was perfection! We were supposed to get Naked in the encore but they cut it out....much to Nicole's dismay.

Here's my m&g photo. Get a good look now because I'm not posting it again. You all know how I feel about my picture floating on the net.....lol It's not my best picture but the guys all look good.
http://pic16.picturetrail.com/VOL646/2836555/11267992/274580485.jpg

I got some awesome pictures tonight. My best yet I think. I'm going to start working on editing them right now and I'll get them up as soon as I can.

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by djgeneral on Aug 26th, 2007, 10:42pm
Aww you look nice  ;D

why was Naked cut :(

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by Shannon on Aug 26th, 2007, 10:58pm
I don't know. I took a picture of the setlist and it's on there. I'll post it later. I have to size down all the pics before I post them or they'll be huge.

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by The Cerulean O on Aug 26th, 2007, 11:00pm
Aww. They should always play Naked. If they played it at every show, I wouldn't care what else they played. I'd be like "You wanna play 22 Seconds? Go for it. James Dean? I'll sing along."

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by Shannon on Aug 27th, 2007, 12:08am
Here's part of the setlist....
http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid225/p704cff3f04ac3a9fd8e3ecc262d1c08b/e7f59291.jpg

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by djgeneral on Aug 27th, 2007, 12:12am
Wait...is it just me or was "Better Days" cut also?
:-/

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by Shannon on Aug 27th, 2007, 12:34am
Yes. I think you're right. :-/

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by The Cerulean O on Aug 27th, 2007, 12:52am
Dude, that is a long setlist :o

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by djgeneral on Aug 27th, 2007, 10:49am
lol are you kidding? It is the same as all the other stops. with 2 songs cut  :'(

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by laurengoo on Aug 27th, 2007, 12:57pm
I'm going to write down this setlist. For my box... ;D

I had really good seats. I was glad to be on the end. Except for the crazies.

Nicole will give you her review OF EVERYTHING.

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by Shannon on Aug 27th, 2007, 1:06pm

on 08/27/07 at 12:57:50, laurengoo wrote:
I'm going to write down this setlist. For my box... ;D

I had really good seats. I was glad to be on the end. Except for the crazies.

Nicole will give you her review OF EVERYTHING.

I can't wait. She has a way of telling a story that's so much better than I ever could. I don't even bother if I know she's going to write a review.

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by laurengoo on Aug 27th, 2007, 1:17pm

on 08/27/07 at 13:06:14, Shannon wrote:
I can't wait. She has a way of telling a story that's so much better than I ever could. I don't even bother if I know she's going to write a review.



Nicole is so much fun. We had such a great time. I think she should be a writer. ;D

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by Shannon on Aug 27th, 2007, 1:27pm
I'm glad you guys had fun. I wish we could have spent more time together. It went by in such a flash.

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by laurengoo on Aug 27th, 2007, 1:31pm

on 08/27/07 at 13:27:17, Shannon wrote:
I'm glad you guys had fun. I wish we could have spent more time together. It went by in such a flash.


Yes it went by too fast if you ask me...I wish we would've gotten there to have dinner with you guys...the tunnel was way backed up. I can't believe they let that happen like that.

I have the group picture of us!! I can send that one to you For memory sake:D

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by Shannon on Aug 27th, 2007, 1:34pm
From what I hear the tunnel is always like that which is why I usually take the bridge. Plus, the tunnel gives me the creeps.

Of course I want the group photo. It turned out really good.

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by laurengoo on Aug 27th, 2007, 1:41pm
The tunnel used to be a lot easier to take a few years ago. I'm not really a bridge fan because of the trucks...they scare me a bit.


I'll email it to you. The original copy of it and not the one I resized. It's a better quality.

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by the red o on Aug 27th, 2007, 3:52pm
Wow, this thread has such glowing things to say about me.  I think you met the wrong person...  Can't review EVERYTHING though, because that might get me in trouble.


I LOVE your picture, Shannon.  Leave it to you to make Robby look tall.  :D

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by Shannon on Aug 27th, 2007, 4:11pm

on 08/27/07 at 15:52:57, the red o wrote:
I LOVE your picture, Shannon. Leave it to you to make Robby look tall. :D

LMAO!!!!  :hahaha: :hahaha:  See I told you you make me laugh daily.

But seriously. I was looking at that picture today thinking 'dang I'm short'.

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by the red o on Aug 27th, 2007, 6:24pm
Do I really have to review?  We'll do it like this:

Driving from Buffalo to Windsor: Surprisingly painless when you put on 3 hour Watchmen concert on the iPod and sing like an idiot for the whole drive.

Arriving at Lauren's:  Met the family and they all made fun of my accent.  :D  Thank you for everything, Lauren!

Lauren and Nicole go to Detroit: Lauren tells me horror stories of the tunnel as we're in the tunnel.  Made me feel very safe.  The 696 hates Lauren.  I think Lauren was going to beat me if I called the tunnel a bridge one more time.  We missed dinner with Shannon and Terri thanks to the stupid bridge tunnel.

Lauren and Nicole arrive at Sterling Heights:  We park (neither of us making any effort to remember where) and locate Shannon and Terri.  We see Shannon off for her meet and greet and then Lauren has her first foray into scalping (except not).

Show preGoo: Loved Lifehouse yet again.  I was happy they got to extend their set and didn't miss Colbie at all.  I think I'm in love with Jason Wade.  I decided Lifehouse and the Goos should tour together until one of them ceases to exist.  
The people watching and dodging was phenominal.  Like, amazing.  Terri, I need to hang out with you for a longer period of time, because I love your dislike for Sympathy and refreshingly honest descriptions of some of the 'regulars'.  That's all I'm gonna say about that, I think...

Goos:  Honestly, I was pretty distracted.  I knew there was going to be trouble.  We were on the edge on John's side 11th row, but the way the seats run, we were only a couple feet from the stage.  The side stage must be too small for all of the gear, because John's rig and rack of guitars were ON stage, meaning there was a little space on stage in front of his equipment.  Also, the security of this area consisted solely of one kid who couldn't have been older than 18.  So when John ventured into this area the first time and one girl ran up to touch him/ be noticed/ make him fall madly in love with her, it somehow made every female in the entire venue think it would be a good idea to rush to that area every time John came even remotely close to it.  Which is all well and good until people are running out of your row, and therefore past you, repeatedly.  And dodging crazed people whose only apparent goal at the show was to touch John makes it hard to watch the show.  It gets extra difficult when your neighbors jump a row and then stand directly in front of you, feeling each other up and standing on the seats.  So I pretty much spent the time trying to find a place to stand so I could see and not be trampled.  I did enjoy seeing angry Security Mike and crew drag out the stage jumper and rough him up a bit outside of the venue.  

Anyways... Goo... uh... they were good.  Not very talkative.  I was happy we got the big black balloons and was extremely proud that the whole crowd seemed determined to hit the band with them.  I love team work.  I hope I got video when the big one nailed John in the head.  He laughed when it happened, so I'm allowed to be amused by it.  I was sad John didn't mess up Acoustic #3, because I've only seen it done perfectly.  Korel, the left handed genius, is awesome.  Mike is Mike.  I thought Robby looked fabulous last night, but we got very little Robby love on our side.  Brad... well, Brad was behind the speakers  that shouldn't have been left on stage, but were...

Setlist is:
Pending...

Then we chatted with Shannon and Terri until we got kicked out.  Drove back to Lauren's via the 696 (in both directions!) and the bridge tunnel.  Then, this morning, I said goodbye to Lauren and Windsor and drove the trip from hell back to NY.

Random:
Lauren - thank you, thank you, thank you for everything!

Detroit is crazy.  Shannon, Detroit fans are nuts.  Detroit drivers are crazed (I'm used to being feared with my NY plates, but Detroit people were not impressed).

Next meet up - Buffalo!

The black balloon holding center and execution site made me sad.  Security was catching them and putting them in our aisle.  I discovered they were killing the balloons there.  :-/  Pic courtesy of Lauren.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/Detroit%208-26-07/103_3022.jpg?t=1188256989

I should have some sketchy video up eventually.  And almost the entire audio.  I lost part of Slave Girl when I switched memory cards and sometime early on, I looked down and had my finger on the microphone because I'm smart like that...


Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by Pondering My Fate on Aug 27th, 2007, 6:25pm
Shannon... I make Robby look tall too, if that's any consolation, hahaha. :[  Your picture with the guys looks good though! :D

Glad you guys had fun at the show!


edit: dammit, Nicole, don't post gigantic reviews in the time it takes me to type three sentences. Now I have to keep editing this until I finish reading that. ;)

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by the red o on Aug 27th, 2007, 6:29pm
Dammit, why does everyone yell at me?!

:D

And it's best not to read anything I write anyways.

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by Shannon on Aug 27th, 2007, 6:34pm
That was a great review Nicole. Nobody does it better....honestly. You just notice things and have the best way of saying it.

I have to agree with you... we Detroiters are a bit mad. Word of warning....don't go to a GA show here...lol I'm one of those crazy drivers. I wasn't even intimidated driving in LA at rush hour....lol


And I agree with you... Terri is great to hang with. She's definitely refreshingly honest. I always have a good time with her.

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by the red o on Aug 27th, 2007, 6:38pm
New life goal: Ride in a car with Shannon.

I must admit, I'm a little scared that Robby obviously really does read the board at least enough to know we're all a happy little family.  Perhaps this is why I'm am refusing any further comment on John's new gig.

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by Shannon on Aug 27th, 2007, 6:43pm
I'm so proud of how well you're controlling yourself right now. ;D As soon as I read that article last night I thought 'uh oh and Nicole just said how good she's been and that she's worked through her issues'.  

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by Pondering My Fate on Aug 27th, 2007, 6:51pm
Haha.  :-X

I laughed at the stagedive incident. Too funny that the guy actually thought he was going to get caught by the crowd.

And it sounds like the Detroit audience is just as insane at concerts as they are driving. ;)

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by Shannon on Aug 27th, 2007, 6:56pm
That guy was an IDIOT!!!! He could have seriously hurt someone. Instead he luckily missed hitting a couple. But the way he landed....he had to have at least bruised or cracked a rib. He landed right on the chair with his back. Stupid Stupid Stupid!!!!

Yes. We are known to be crazy drivers. My parents are from the west side of Michigan and they hate driving here.

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by Pondering My Fate on Aug 27th, 2007, 7:11pm
Oh, for sure. I've seen some pretty stupid behavior at shows (and been to some where that kind of thing is considered "acceptable" :-/) but I don't know how stupid/drunk you have to be to leap into a bunch of metal chairs to music that, clearly, does not tend to "inspire" normal people to stage dive. :P Um, hellooooo?
I'm glad nobody got hit by the dude though.

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by the red o on Aug 27th, 2007, 7:23pm
The best part is that there wasn't any music when it happened.  It was right before the encore if I remember correctly.

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by Shannon on Aug 27th, 2007, 7:36pm
It was. We were all standing around clapping for the guys to come out for the encore.

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by laurengoo on Aug 27th, 2007, 9:18pm
Yay!! I'm glad you had a safe trip home Nicole!!

Yes, the 696 HATES ME. I swear it said East but noo we were supposed to be going West...ARGH!!

Well, we made it home at least.

I'm glad you had fun. NICOLE I LOVE MY POSTCARDS I REALLY REALLY DO!!  ;D

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by DWG on Aug 28th, 2007, 12:16am
"Cuz Yer Gone"??  lol

Nice meet & greet pic, Shannon. I know what you mean...it probably was all of 10 seconds. It's a miracle any of us manage to get out a coherent sentence. Congrats.

Thanks to Nicole for the review.

Sounds like you all had quite an adventure!

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by tunnel on Aug 28th, 2007, 3:59pm

on 08/28/07 at 00:16:28, DWG wrote:
"Cuz Yer Gone"??  lol

Nice meet & greet pic, Shannon. I know what you mean...it probably was all of 10 seconds. It's a miracle any of us manage to get out a coherent sentence. Congrats.

Thanks to Nicole for the review.

Sounds like you all had quite an adventure!


We did have quite the adventure!! My favourite part was the bridge tunnel :D. Cause you know, I love going 20K/hr!

That. is ridiculous!

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by rzezniksangel on Aug 28th, 2007, 7:16pm
Oh Shannon your picture came out great!!!

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by Shannon on Aug 29th, 2007, 5:09pm
Thanks Melissa. I think yours is pretty great too.

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by tripper on Aug 29th, 2007, 7:56pm
Thanks Nicole- nice hanging with you & Lauren for those few quick minutes! Glad I didn't offened anyone with my commentaries of the crowd.  I should have told you guys to come closer for Lifehouse since the people next to us were in the bar the whole time for them.  You could have seen Jason's pretty blue eyes.  

The picture of the black balloons graveyard made me sad- especially since we spent so much time blowing them up- smelling the "bacon"!  Hope my boss didn't see me running around trying to pass them out to everyone!

And I agree- the girls who thought it was so cute to stand in front of John to get their pictures taken= were pissing me right off!  Enough- watch the damn show so you can tell people you were there- do they even remember the show???

Shannon- always a blast.  This was the best one by far!

Terri

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by tunnel on Aug 29th, 2007, 8:08pm

on 08/29/07 at 19:56:49, tripper wrote:
Thanks Nicole- nice hanging with you & Lauren for those few quick minutes! Glad I didn't offened anyone with my commentaries of the crowd.  I should have told you guys to come closer for Lifehouse since the people next to us were in the bar the whole time for them.  You could have seen Jason's pretty blue eyes.  

The picture of the black balloons graveyard made me sad- especially since we spent so much time blowing them up- smelling the "bacon"!  Hope my boss didn't see me running around trying to pass them out to everyone!

And I agree- the girls who thought it was so cute to stand in front of John to get their pictures taken= were pissing me right off!  Enough- watch the damn show so you can tell people you were there- do they even remember the show???

Shannon- always a blast.  This was the best one by far!

Terri



Terri, it was so good to see you again!

I know what you mean, we spent time blowing them up too.  :'(

I got some good pictures of Lifehouse because they played in the light and the sun was hitting Jason in the right way... :)

*HUGS*

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by bridge on Aug 29th, 2007, 10:07pm

on 08/29/07 at 19:56:49, tripper wrote:
Thanks Nicole- nice hanging with you & Lauren for those few quick minutes! Glad I didn't offened anyone with my commentaries of the crowd. I should have told you guys to come closer for Lifehouse since the people next to us were in the bar the whole time for them. You could have seen Jason's pretty blue eyes.

The picture of the black balloons graveyard made me sad- especially since we spent so much time blowing them up- smelling the "bacon"! Hope my boss didn't see me running around trying to pass them out to everyone!

And I agree- the girls who thought it was so cute to stand in front of John to get their pictures taken= were pissing me right off! Enough- watch the damn show so you can tell people you were there- do they even remember the show???

Shannon- always a blast. This was the best one by far!

Terri


I enjoyed the commentary.  I did not enjoy blowing up the gross tasting balloons only to witness their entrapment and death.  Useless 18 year old security kid didn't care about the endless stream of girls running to the stage from, like, the lawn, but man was he serious about killing the balloons!

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by bridge on Aug 30th, 2007, 3:41pm
The crowd's efforts to get balloons onstage pay off.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNMV8xLt6Wg

:D

Cuz You're Gone is also uploaded.  I think I will be putting up another song too.

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by Shannon on Aug 30th, 2007, 3:55pm
I love the baseball with guitar and black balloons. John getting hit in the head....that was funny.

Did you see Bre's Detroit youtube videos in this thread?
http://www.musicfanclubs.org/cgi-bin/ggd/YaBB.cgi?board=maingooboard;action=display;num=1188446901

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by tunnel on Aug 30th, 2007, 6:02pm

on 08/30/07 at 15:41:22, bridge wrote:
The crowd's efforts to get balloons onstage pay off.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNMV8xLt6Wg

:D

Cuz You're Gone is also uploaded.  I think I will be putting up another song too.



I CAN HEAR MYSELF LAUGHING LIKE A CHILD! OH DEAR.... :-X

Good video though Nicole. :D

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by bridge on Aug 30th, 2007, 6:07pm
Ha ha!  Is that you?!  It's cute :D

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by tunnel on Aug 30th, 2007, 6:34pm

on 08/30/07 at 18:07:27, bridge wrote:
Ha ha!  Is that you?!  It's cute :D


Oh dear... :embarrass: it tends to be like that when I scream....and I think I sound like a child.

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by Pondering My Fate on Aug 30th, 2007, 8:16pm
Way to not pay any attention to Robby while he's singing, hahaha. ;)  
Nice videos, Nicole!

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by bridge on Aug 30th, 2007, 8:26pm
I was!  But the balloon movement was in full force and it won my attention (also, I actually couldn't see Robby extremely well from my location and our side got very little Robby love).  For most of Black Balloon I was staring at the balloons in the crowd, so I actually ignore both singers.  :D

And, later on in the show I was mostly distracted by the moths circling John and following the spotlights.

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by Pondering My Fate on Aug 30th, 2007, 8:32pm
You are SO easily distracted. Geeeez. :P

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by the penguin on Aug 30th, 2007, 8:35pm
Nice video! :)  I'd be distracted by the balloons too.

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by bridge on Aug 30th, 2007, 8:36pm
And then I watched the balloon execution...

And then I watched the two women feel each other up (I didn't really have a choice, though)...

I admitted right in my review that I was pretty distracted.

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by tunnel on Aug 31st, 2007, 11:25am

on 08/30/07 at 20:36:54, bridge wrote:
And then I watched the two women feel each other up (I didn't really have a choice, though)...


DUDE. That was not called for. Seriously, go feel yourselves up in a hotel room.

Title: Re: Detroit show and meet & greet!
Post by bridge on Aug 31st, 2007, 11:28am
The ENTIRE audience was uncalled for at that show.  I stand by my statement that Detroiters are out of their minds.  :D



The World of Goo Boards » Powered by YaBB 1 Gold - SP 1.3.1!
YaBB 2000-2003. All Rights Reserved.