The World of Goo Boards (http://www.musicfanclubs.org/cgi-bin/ggd/YaBB.cgi)
Off Topic Board >> Archived Concert Review and Fan Pictures Forum >> The Borgata - now with review
(Message started by: partygoober on Jul 27th, 2007, 12:48pm)

Title: The Borgata - now with review
Post by partygoober on Jul 27th, 2007, 12:48pm
well tonight, is my first goo show in 4 years...


i'm nervous!!!!

weird huh?

who's taggin along?

~Kristyn~

Title: Re: The Borgata
Post by Shannon on Jul 27th, 2007, 1:20pm
Yay for Kristyn. I can't wait to hear all about it. I'll be waiting for a nice long detailed review.

Have a blast!

Title: Re: The Borgata
Post by DWG on Jul 27th, 2007, 2:52pm
Have fun, ya slacker.

Title: Re: The Borgata
Post by partygoober on Jul 28th, 2007, 9:06am

on 07/27/07 at 14:52:51, DWG wrote:
Have fun, ya slacker.



speaking of slacking, i also got my license yesterday as well


anywho...the concert




i'm not sure how detailed this is actually going to be



for some reason the event center was upstairs and the old security man wasn't letting people up til around 6 or 6:30....it must have been 6:15 b/c at 6 he wasn't budging and at 6:30 half the people were already upstairs in lines...go figure


i went with my friend meggie (who on june 7,2002 went to the trump taj mahal show..but we didn't go together...so it was like an AC reunion with goo)...she's a fan...she has their albums.....and then as we stood there we saw a friend from high school w/his older sister....so we let them budg in line...but only b/c we were catching up....and b/c i said so


we got in and there are probably about 7 heads in front of me to declare a row.....and it was to the right of johnny's mic

this pre-performer cam eout...idk if she's been on the tour or not...i don't even remember her name actually....but she played like 6 songs and pissed me off...there was no need for her honestly


lifehouse....i saw lifehouse last year at iup front row...they are amazing...what was shocking to me though is they only played about7 songs......i really would have thought more was played for a known opener like lifehosue....i mean..1 thing i dislike about live lifehouse is that they will only play like 3 hits, and then the rest is new stuff....and i don't know that stuff...and i wanna sing along.....


now....at this time all your lifehouse fans have left the area and pg has 4 heads in front of her.....3 of them boys......taller boys.....but i wasn't gonna let it bother me


now..before i get into goo mode.....i'm giving myself an fyi......next time, if i get to, go to a ggd concert...i need to go w/a FAN like myself (or any of the GAers!!!!)....because unfortuneatley..this concert ending up being one of my worst experiences


the goos came out in style as always....everything was a surprise to me, from looks of johnny and robby...to the new keyboardist and guitartist....makes me really miss gregory......the goos were on.....now i'm not gonna go into detail on each song so i'll just make sidenots

1. i'm not sure if i like how johnny never plays the guitar anymore...i mean i know a lot of the new songs he hardly plays it
2. this show, no gutterflower songs were played at all
3. shorter setlist
4. i was acknowledged GAers...i was
5. johnny's eyes were really green...very nice and pretty....oooo and he smiled a whole lot which i'm not use to seeing AT ALL on stage (from him)


ok....so any GAers remember Roseland.....and how pg needed water b/c she was getting dizzy and the nice girl gave me the water she got from lisa loeb?....well its been about 5 years since a Goo GA concert....and i went in w/o water....and being sick from earlier in the day ...and halfway through the show i was feeling the dehydration....so i toned down and would just sing along instead of going crazy....well.......right as acousic number 3 came on....i gave up my awesome spot, to save my life.....in all honesty...rzeznik should have supplied me w/the water b/c of my devoted fandome ;)


so as i get out of this enormous crowd...my body starts shaking and i get that sick feeling...so i ran to the bathroom...and i vomited...a little...after that i went to the refreshments (that were cleaned up) and asked if there was anymore water...the guy got it for me for free....

and i sadly watched from the back.....but still enjoyed the must...i can in at the end of iris...so i only really missed like 4 songs..and that was it

the end of a concert




just didn't feel right i guess...myself and w/the goos




i want another though.....i need to do it right





the setlist was short though and i don't understna dthat..


anywho...there you go everyone...if i remember things i'll piece them in


oo like this....we needed security really bad for these drunk girls and i saw mike de-caf's head pop up and got butterflies!!!

~Kristyn~

Title: Re: The Borgata
Post by partygoober on Jul 28th, 2007, 9:10am


- boys who air guitar at concerts should get smacked


~Kristyn~

Title: Re: The Borgata
Post by Shannon on Jul 28th, 2007, 10:02am
Thanks for the review Kristyn. I'm glad you got to see a show after such a long hiatus. Although I'm sorry the experience wasn't as good as you'd probably hoped and that you got sick...that sucks!

After doing GA for the last 4 shows I've gone to I'm relieved that my last show actually has a seat. I'm done with GA for now.

Title: Re: The Borgata - now with review
Post by DWG on Jul 28th, 2007, 12:40pm
Hey, crats on getting your license!!

Sorry to hear you got sick at the show. I bet it felt weird (in more ways than one) to leave your spot during the show.

Hope it goes better next time. Go with a fan, or at least someone who will make it fun to be there. Don't wait another 4 years though.

So, how were you acknowledged?

Oh, yeah...the title of the thread made me laugh.
"Borgata...now with review"
Sounds like a commercial.
"Borgata! Now with more peanuts!!"

Title: Re: The Borgata - now with review
Post by Shannon on Jul 28th, 2007, 1:05pm
I added the "now with review" part so everyone would know Kristyn put her review in this thread.

Title: Re: The Borgata - now with review
Post by djgeneral on Jul 28th, 2007, 3:08pm
No Gutterflower songs?  ::)

Title: Re: The Borgata - now with review
Post by omgitsgoo on Jul 28th, 2007, 5:16pm
can we get a set list for this show?
or can anyone tell me where i can find one?

Title: Re: The Borgata - now with review
Post by Shannon on Jul 28th, 2007, 5:21pm
I copied this from a post on the IM by abs1027....

I'll give it a try, might be out of order and maybe forgot a song.

Long Way Down
Slide
Feel the Silience
Black Balloon
Lucky Star
January Friend
Name
Become
Acoustic # 3
Cuz your Gone/1000 words
Before It's too Late
Slave Girl
Stay with You
Let Love IN
Iris

Broadway
American Girl

Title: Re: The Borgata - now with review
Post by partygoober on Jul 28th, 2007, 10:22pm
Long Way Down
Slide
Feel the Silience  
Black Balloon
Lucky Star
January Friend
Cuz your Gone/1000 words
Name
Become
Before It's too Late
Slave Girl
Stay with You
Let Love IN
Acoustic # 3
Iris

Broadway
American Girl



just a little different than you had found shannon....i did however see a girl walking away with one of the originals...should i have swiped it?


and dwg...i tottally loled at your comment w/the peanuts and whatnot

:)

Title: Re: The Borgata - now with review
Post by CTC on Jul 30th, 2007, 12:31pm
It's about frickin time you got your ass to a show girl!  Of course PG is acknowleged....once you meet PG you NEVER forget her  :-*  

And for getting your license.....Whoooo   :pepper:

Title: Re: The Borgata - now with review
Post by ChickenCookie on Jul 31st, 2007, 11:50am

on 07/30/07 at 12:31:44, CTC wrote:
It's about frickin time you got your ass to a show girl! Of course PG is acknowleged....once you meet PG you NEVER forget her :-*

Yeah, I'll bet even Mark McGrath still remembers you!  ;)

Sorry this concert experience wasn't all it was cracked up to be.  Holly and Jamie were in town for the show at Darien Lake, and we had lunch together and talked about how nice it would be for everyone to get together again.  Not even necessarily for a show; just to see each other again.  I can't tell you how I miss you all!

Congrats on getting your license!  Does that mean you'll drive for our next GA tour?  ;D

Title: Re: The Borgata - now with review
Post by DWG on Jul 31st, 2007, 1:01pm

on 07/31/07 at 11:50:08, ChickenCookie wrote:
Sorry this concert experience wasn't all it was cracked up to be.


So, did you go to the show, or what? I'm guessin' "what".

Title: Re: The Borgata - now with review
Post by ChickenCookie on Jul 31st, 2007, 4:26pm

on 07/31/07 at 13:01:55, DWG wrote:
So, did you go to the show, or what? I'm guessin' "what".

You'd be correct.  See, THIS is why I need all my GA Goobers to move to Buffalo.  Purely selfish reasons, of course!  

Title: Re: The Borgata - now with review
Post by partygoober on Jul 31st, 2007, 9:36pm

mark will always remember me....blonde and young


anywho...i can't drive this piece of crap to buff...i hardly can get to work and back


but i want el reunion badly......awakenow doesn't return my phonecalls anymore


~Kristyn~

Title: Re: The Borgata - now with review
Post by ChickenCookie on Aug 1st, 2007, 7:24am

on 07/31/07 at 21:36:39, partygoober wrote:
but i want el reunion badly......awakenow doesn't return my phonecalls anymore

At least you have her number ...  :(

Title: Re: The Borgata - now with review
Post by CTC on Aug 2nd, 2007, 12:32pm

on 07/31/07 at 21:36:39, partygoober wrote:
but i want el reunion badly......awakenow doesn't return my phonecalls anymore


~Kristyn~


She can't break free of her eBay addiction!  LOL

Do I need to start saving pennies again?  Or manybe just tell hubby we need to go back and visit his mom again!   ;)

Title: Re: The Borgata - now with review
Post by ChickenCookie on Aug 2nd, 2007, 4:26pm

on 08/02/07 at 12:32:05, CTC wrote:
She can't break free of her eBay addiction! LOL

Do I need to start saving pennies again? Or manybe just tell hubby we need to go back and visit his mom again! ;)

Her ebay addiction has become her Jackdaw addiction, lol!

And yes, start saving those pennies ... we absolutely need to do this again.  I miss everyone so much!

Title: Re: The Borgata - now with review
Post by CTC on Aug 2nd, 2007, 5:08pm

on 08/02/07 at 16:26:11, ChickenCookie wrote:
Her ebay addiction has become her Jackdaw addiction, lol!

And yes, start saving those pennies ... we absolutely need to do this again.  I miss everyone so much!



REALLY??  I still need to get there first album, I think it is.  We need to have the entire GA at your house!  LOL   :-*

Title: Re: The Borgata - now with review
Post by partygoober on Aug 3rd, 2007, 4:38pm
i will go
iii will come right now...seriously



how much are plane ticekts?


maybe i'll wait til after i get vacay time


~KRistyn~

Title: Re: The Borgata - now with review
Post by ChickenCookie on Aug 3rd, 2007, 4:56pm

on 08/03/07 at 16:38:06, partygoober wrote:
i will go
iii will come right now...seriously



how much are plane ticekts?


maybe i'll wait til after i get vacay time


~KRistyn~

Well I'm busy remodeling an old, outdated apartment right now.  We're not talking paint and new furniture here ... I'm talking new drywall, refinishing floors, electrical and plumbing work ... you name it.  So yeah ... everybody come on up ... I'll gladly put y'all to work  :devil:

But don't bring Jay.  Remember, he almost blew up my house once.  I don't want to give him a second chance to try it!  ;D

Title: Re: The Borgata - now with review
Post by partygoober on Aug 7th, 2007, 4:55pm
i never said i wanted jay to come in the first place....



;D

Title: Re: The Borgata - now with review
Post by ChickenCookie on Aug 8th, 2007, 10:53am

on 08/07/07 at 16:55:40, partygoober wrote:
i never said i wanted jay to come in the first place.... ;D

Niiiiiiiice!



The World of Goo Boards » Powered by YaBB 1 Gold - SP 1.3.1!
YaBB 2000-2003. All Rights Reserved.