The World of Goo Boards (http://www.musicfanclubs.org/cgi-bin/ggd/YaBB.cgi)
Off Topic Board >> Archived Concert Review and Fan Pictures Forum >> Darien Lake 7-28-07
(Message started by: the red o on Jul 29th, 2007, 1:15am)

Title: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by the red o on Jul 29th, 2007, 1:15am
Just got home.  You know, 40 minutes to the venue, and 2 and a half hours to get out and home.  That's just how we roll in WNY.

Anyways... it was a great show.  I had tried to be as clueless about the setlist as possible, so I was very very pleased to hear All Eyes On Me, Cuz You're Gone, SLAVE GIRL... No Naked... Sorry, Drew.

I audio recorded the show, so if it comes out okay, I'll post it.  I also videotaped a little bit.  Notable moments started right off the bat.  The Slide guitar (second song)wasn't working, so John smashed it and told us he was skipping the song (he didn't, he got a new guitar).  There were guitar remnants on the stage for about half the show.  We got an extended version of the Before It's Too Late story.  Lucky Star was dedicated to Mark Freeland (local musician who just passed away).  Acoustic #3 went off with absolutely no mistakes.  John gave a really cool intro to Name that I've never heard before and hopefully my recording comes out clear.  He also smoked a cigarette during the encore, I believe, which I haven't heard about at other shows (this isn't asking for a cigarette discussion, I just haven't seen him do that in a long time).  Aside from guitar smashing, nothing too spontaneous.  No signs from the audience.  We didn't get the big black balloons, but holy crap, there were a LOT of balloons.

Weirdest moment was that Robby gave a shout out to the Inner Machine.  As far as I know, this hasn't happened before.  I know there was a very large gathering of IM people at the show, but I was pretty surprised.

Other less Goo related subjects:
I went with a friend of mine who isn't a fan of the band and has actually never been to a real concert before, but she's pretty laid back so I was pretty sure it would be okay.  She really really liked Lifehouse and liked the Goos as well.  I was happy she had a good time because I worry if other people aren't enjoying themselves.  She approved of the Goos so I can keep her as a friend.  :D

Colbie didn't do much for me.  Her band looked to be having a whole lot more fun than her.  We spent most of her set people watching.  Note to girls: Wearing a shirt exposing 79% of your boobs will not help you enjoy the concert any more or cause John to leap off stage and run away with you.

I really liked Lifehouse.  They sounded very good and I knew all of their songs.  The Joke is absolutely wonderful.  They got a half standing ovation at the end of their set.  I think they were a very good match for the Goos.

Okay... the audience...I just want to share the story of the person sitting next to me.  I really hope you read this board, even though I know you don't because you only knew the singles... Anyways... we go to our seats and a woman is sitting in mine.  So I tell her she's in my seat and she looks at me liked I murdered her child and moves next to me.  She then stares at me repeatedly throughout the night.  She is also overflowing from her seat into mine.  Now... the seats are small and close and you have to really respect eachother's space.  She didn't.  It was 28473 degrees and she was fanning out her hair and running into me and I had nasty stranger hair touching my arm all night.  She occassionally wore sunglasses during the show and plugged her ears. She shifted during the show so that she was standing with one half in her area and one half in my seat area.  On the other side, my friend was just about getting felt up by the guy next to her.  I spent the show in an area about have the size of a seat.  The show was very good, but being between two sets of idiots sucked.

This review is a trainwreck.  I know.  I was just sitting in a parking lot for an hour and a half and my head hurts so this is as organized as it's getting.

Hopefully some audio/video will be coming soon.  :D

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by Hercules on Jul 29th, 2007, 9:02am
Thanks for the review Nicole! :) :)

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by Aphrodite on Jul 29th, 2007, 9:24am

on 07/29/07 at 01:15:54, the red o wrote:
Note to girls: Wearing a shirt exposing 79% of your boobs will not help you enjoy the concert any more or cause John to leap off stage and run away with you.


Thanks for that! Cleavage shirt here I come! :D

lol...I'm kidding, it was a great review Nicole. I'm so excited for our concert!!!

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by Shannon on Jul 29th, 2007, 9:54am
Thanks for the review Nicole. Sounds like it was a wild night. One of these days I'm going to have to see a show in Buffalo.

From what I've read on the IM there was a group of IMers who rented a bus to and from the venue. Maybe that's who Robby shouted out to. It's possible a few of them had a meet and greet and told him.

Your experience at the show sounds like mine on an airplane. I just don't get why people can't respect personal space. I really enjoy my personal space...lol

I can't wait to hear the audio. The newspaper reviewer noted that it was the best version of Name he'd ever heard. I'm getting all tingly thinking about it.....hurry ;)

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by the red o on Jul 29th, 2007, 10:43am
Oh, I know there was huge group of IMers.  It's also likely Robby knew about them because they toured his parents' house...

As for Name... I totally thought about you, Shannon.  I had to switch my memory card and was debating doing it in the middle of Name, because, well, I've heard Name 867483 times.  But I knew you'd kill me and held off.  My audio is pretty good, so once I figure out how to strip it nicely off the video, I'll share it.

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by Shannon on Jul 29th, 2007, 10:45am
Just use Audacity to get the audio. You can just record it from the video and export it as an mp3. It's takes 5 minutes. Or if you send me the video I can make the audio.

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by the red o on Jul 29th, 2007, 10:53am
I don't want to send it.  Both halves are 1.3 GB.  I'll try Audacity, even though it has never seemed to work for me.

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by Shannon on Jul 29th, 2007, 10:58am
I LOVE Audicity. I just made an mp3 for a friend the other day. She couldn't convert a song no matter how hard she tried. So I recorded the video and exported it as an mp3. It took me 3 minutes.

Make sure you're set to "wave out mix" and that the email and AIM buddy list sounds are turned off. Then just record and 'export'.

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by the red o on Jul 29th, 2007, 11:08am
So I have to play the video and then just record on Audacity?

Send me a little "how to" if you have a minute.  I don't feel like learning for myself right now.

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by the red o on Jul 29th, 2007, 11:14am
Lauren, you can wear a low cut shirt if you'd like.  As long as you don't plan to be bouncing all over the place and rubbing bald security guy's head.  :D

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by Shannon on Jul 29th, 2007, 11:15am
Yes. Exactly.

-Make sure both the video and Audacity are up and ready to go.
-Make sure Audacity is set to "wave out mix". It's in the little pull down menu in the middle of the program...next to the volume buttons.
-Make sure all the normal emails and buddy list sounds are turned off.
-hit the red record button on Audacity and then play your video.
-Once it's done....hit stop. You may have to cut out some of the beginning where you turned it on and the video hadn't started yet. You just highlight the flat lined area and hit the little scissors button on the menu...it'll cut it right out. Then you should be set.
-Next you "export as an mp3". That should be it. You could save your Audacity file too just in case you mess up and have to go back and edit or export again.

That's it. Once you do it a couple times it's so easy. I find it easier than messing with conversion programs.

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by the red o on Jul 29th, 2007, 11:19am
Thank you.

I guess my problem is that I don't have a Wave Out Mix.  I have microphone or Stereo Mix.  And when I do Stereo Mix, it appears to only be recording in the left channel.

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by the red o on Jul 29th, 2007, 11:21am
Okay, the playback was in both channels...

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by Shannon on Jul 29th, 2007, 11:41am
Cool. I'm glad it worked. I use it for everything just because it's so easy.

That's weird you don't have a wave out mix. Hmmm. I had to re-download it after my harddrive crashed. I was worried I wouldn't have it either but it's there. I wonder why you don't?

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by Aphrodite on Jul 29th, 2007, 2:04pm

on 07/29/07 at 11:14:22, the red o wrote:
Lauren, you can wear a low cut shirt if you'd like.  As long as you don't plan to be bouncing all over the place and rubbing bald security guy's head.  :D


I don't think we'll be close enough to rub the security guy's head. I'm kidding ;)

I just want John to look at me. I'll be happy! :P

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by Poseidon on Jul 29th, 2007, 6:33pm
Thanks for the review!!

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by the red o on Jul 29th, 2007, 11:25pm
A proper setlist:

Long Way Down
Slide
Feel the Silence
Black Balloon
Lucky Star
Tucked Away
Cuz You're Gone/A Thousand Words
Become
All Eyes On Me
Name
Before It's Too Late
Slave Girl
Stay With You
Better Days
Let Love In
Acoustic #3
Iris

Broadway
American Girl

And just for laughs, the shortest youtube clip ever...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x07vxaKxwiw



Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by Shannon on Jul 29th, 2007, 11:38pm
That was the GREATEST short clip ever. When I heard he smashed his guitar I was praying you got a clip of it. Ahhhh to have been there. I really do have to get to a Buffalo show soon.

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by the red o on Jul 30th, 2007, 12:14am
My camera was just dangling and recording audio and I saw him strum his guitar, which made no noise.  Then he kind of threw it down and I knew something was going to happen, so I swung my camera up as fast as I could.  :D

I still can't figure out if he was angry or not.  I thought he just did it to be flashy at the hometown show and it's not the first time a guitar hasn't worked.  But after Slide, when Damage handed him his next guitar, John kind of put his hand on his back and looked like he was trying to be apologetic to Damage for possibly losing his temper for a moment when he stepped offstage to retrieve the 2nd Slide guitar.

Either way... yes, yes you do need to come to a proper Buffalo show.  :D

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by Hercules on Jul 30th, 2007, 7:34am
Hahaha, that was awesome. :)
Best shortest clip ever!!

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by Aphrodite on Jul 30th, 2007, 7:45am
OMIGOD!!!

That is amazing!!!! THANKS SO MUCH NICOLE!! :D

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by collegeunm on Jul 30th, 2007, 12:20pm
that clip is great......I was hoping that someone who was there had gotten that on video....


GREAT review btw

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by sweetcharadex on Jul 30th, 2007, 9:58pm

on 07/30/07 at 00:14:44, the red o wrote:
I still can't figure out if he was angry or not. I thought he just did it to be flashy at the hometown show and it's not the first time a guitar hasn't worked. But after Slide, when Damage handed him his next guitar, John kind of put his hand on his back and looked like he was trying to be apologetic to Damage for possibly losing his temper for a moment when he stepped offstage to retrieve the 2nd Slide guitar.


yeah. that is the same vibe i got from all of it. i definitly didn't think he was 100% pissed. i thought he threw it to the get the crowd warmed up and excited as well.  i have video of after throwing it. i was recording him talking before ... and then music started so i stopped recording. little did i know there would be more .... i will post it later!

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by Shannon on Jul 31st, 2007, 10:38am

on 07/30/07 at 21:58:11, sweetcharadex wrote:
yeah. that is the same vibe i got from all of it. i definitly didn't think he was 100% pissed. i thought he threw it to the get the crowd warmed up and excited as well. i have video of after throwing it. i was recording him talking before ... and then music started so i stopped recording. little did i know there would be more .... i will post it later!

How about a review too? I love to get everyone's perspective on a show.....especially a home town show.

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by the red o on Jul 31st, 2007, 11:07am

on 07/30/07 at 21:58:11, sweetcharadex wrote:
yeah. that is the same vibe i got from all of it. i definitly didn't think he was 100% pissed. i thought he threw it to the get the crowd warmed up and excited as well. i have video of after throwing it. i was recording him talking before ... and then music started so i stopped recording. little did i know there would be more .... i will post it later!


I have the after part too.  He didn't seem pissed off at all.  I think it was just a show for the crowd.  It's not like it's the first time John has smashed a guitar and it's not like he's ever had a guitar not work on stage.  

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by the red o on Jul 31st, 2007, 12:19pm
Alright, here's the first half of the show (audio). I'm listening to it now and need to make sure you can't hear me anywhere. :D

It's as is. I stripped it off the audio and doubled the volume. It's definitely listenable, especially with headphones.

http://www.mediafire.com/?0dbzdgel4qa

http://www.mediafire.com/?41zuusclztz

http://www.mediafire.com/?95vewoxm50d

http://www.mediafire.com/?cqj1i28lm9e

http://www.mediafire.com/?afynjquq0nk

http://www.mediafire.com/?10hmd0nncjb

http://www.mediafire.com/?8tzgxm0zhsq

http://www.mediafire.com/?4djoxyglgne

http://www.mediafire.com/?fl3zzmxkfnl

http://www.mediafire.com/?7crji0n1m9g

http://www.mediafire.com/?d99yjmojuzb

http://www.mediafire.com/?7dn95mrin3z

http://www.mediafire.com/?ared1o3gtnk

And the rest...

http://www.mediafire.com/?2pznn9iyztn

http://www.mediafire.com/?5dgxngdgjdr

http://www.mediafire.com/?52adb0m9gy0

http://www.mediafire.com/?3n02jjwznzy

http://www.mediafire.com/?edmjgod3dv9

http://www.mediafire.com/?1zt0myjpawb

http://www.mediafire.com/?3ddxz1yjyom

http://www.mediafire.com/?1trogc30z1z

http://www.mediafire.com/?fmz03bnjnlf

http://www.mediafire.com/?b99iz0myqio

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by sweetcharadex on Jul 31st, 2007, 1:01pm
OMG you are amazing for recording all that and sharing.

I am starting to load videos on youtube of some of the parts when they talked .... it's under my screen name.

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by sweetcharadex on Jul 31st, 2007, 1:22pm

on 07/31/07 at 10:38:46, Shannon wrote:
How about a review too? I love to get everyone's perspective on a show.....especially a home town show.


okay. well for DL I wrote a quick summary on the IM. but pitt was a much better show, so I will write a proper review for that one ..... I'll just copy what I put on the IM in a minute into this thread.

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by Shannon on Jul 31st, 2007, 1:43pm
Cool thanks.

And thanks Nicole for all the audio. I can't wait to listen.

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by sweetcharadex on Jul 31st, 2007, 2:09pm
this is what I posted on the IM after DL:

I have to be up in a few hours to go to Pitt ... so just a brief summary for now, until one of the other 39483293 members at the show posts details.  by the way it was cool meeting some of you!

I recorded video of them talking before songs ..... except the time john talked to the crowd and thanked the inner machine. i accidently deleted that.  So I will post video once I get it on my computer and everything.  they all thanked the inner machine and thought it was cool all of this went down.  and he said i am glad you are hear to experience this or something. it was a cool thing to do.

Set list from memory (in no order):

stay with you
feel the silence
let love in
better days
become
slide
black balloon complete with a million from all of us
all eyes on me
acoustic #3
iris
long way down
name
slave girl
tucked away
lucky star
cuz you're gone with 1000 words
before it's too late

encore:
broadway
american girl

they played right up until 11:00. talked a lot. mentioned they were playing a ton of old ones tonight frequently.

before it's too late - "hey!  this is a new song. it's from a movie coming out this summer.  they showed me the movie.  they called me up and said 'we want you to write this song and have it be like a love theme, alright' .... so i'm like okay, alright ... whatever it's what you all think i do, so that's what i'll fucking do.  so they put me in this office with this movie playing on the screen.  and for a half an hour it was just these giant robots from fucking outer space destroying everything.  and a guy comes in and he's like ' so what do you think ... can you do it?' i'm like .. how the fuck am i supposed to write the love them ... i can do death metal.  so i said, let me see the guy and the girl.  so they showed me a picture of the girl, and i was like yeah okay i can do this. anyway, so the gist of it all is just the love between a man and a woman, and a gang of killer robots from outer fucking space."

robby- "that's right man we are just super super glad that we can be part of this awesome show here in  buffalo new york.  and thanks a lot for coming out, there's such awesome numbers man, showing your support.  it's been a long time, it's spectacular.  and we are going to be playing all sorts of songs tonight, and i'd like to dedicate this song to our super friend Mark" ... but they go to play LUCKY FRIGGEN STAR!!!!!

there were 4 empty seats infront of me, and 1 extra next to me. so the guys could see me, and robby looked my way a lot during his songs which made me happy.  brad saw me a ton, and johnny looked at me a lot too and pointed at me a few times. they were all smiles. mike was even smiling which doesn't happen a lot from what i hear.  korel was laughing at johnny's jokes. and like johnny and korel had this thing back and forth whenever brad had a solo, and johnny would try and outplay him but they would end up laughing.

john dedicated acoustic #3 to an old friend who is no longer with them

he smashed his guitar before slide. i don't know if it was the wrong guitar or what.  he was playing around getting the crowd into it.  then brad grabs a new guitar also.  so then he starts to play slide after he gets a new guitar from damage.

lindy ruff was there in the second row on brads side. johnny definitly looked at him a few times during better days which is cool. he is the head coach for the sabres for out of towners.



okay i am so tired. i have to get up in like 5 hours to go to pitt.

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by Shannon on Jul 31st, 2007, 2:33pm
Thanks so much for posting your review. I love how you remembered all the dialog. That's always the best part and unfortunately for me it's always the parts I forget.

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by sweetcharadex on Jul 31st, 2007, 2:38pm
oh haha i wish i remembered.

i just listened to the audio from video, and typed it out.

i posted my videos at: http://www.youtube.com/sweetcharadex

i just made an account today so i hope it works. its not really showing up if i type anything on youtube so i don't know whats going on.

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by Shannon on Jul 31st, 2007, 2:43pm
I can see your youtube page just fine. The videos are great. I love that you recorded them talking. That's the best parts. I never thought of that.

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by the red o on Jul 31st, 2007, 3:17pm

on 07/31/07 at 14:38:31, sweetcharadex wrote:
oh haha i wish i remembered.

i just listened to the audio from video, and typed it out.

i posted my videos at: http://www.youtube.com/sweetcharadex

i just made an account today so i hope it works. its not really showing up if i type anything on youtube so i don't know whats going on.


Youtube is super buggy.  Whatever you typed might show up in a couple hours.

You and I had the same idea.  I videoed most of the little talks between songs.  I love John's hand motions during the BITL story.

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by sweetcharadex on Jul 31st, 2007, 7:59pm
oh, okay!  thanks guys.

yeah i mean i've heard the songs a million times .... and hardly anyone ever records when they talk in between songs, so i tried my best.


Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by tkc1989 on Aug 1st, 2007, 2:33pm
Nicole, have you managed to do an mp3 of Name yet?  ;)

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by the red o on Aug 1st, 2007, 2:59pm
Someone didn't read page 3.  :D





http://www.mediafire.com/?ared1o3gtnk

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by tkc1989 on Aug 1st, 2007, 4:51pm

on 08/01/07 at 14:59:06, the red o wrote:
Someone didn't read page 3. :D





http://www.mediafire.com/?ared1o3gtnk


AH my bad! Sorry thought I had. Thanks :D

Title: Re: Darien Lake 7-28-07
Post by Livyanna on Aug 2nd, 2007, 8:56pm
I haven't been on here in a REALLY long time, but I just had to thank Nicole for that awesome audio.  It was such a great night and now I can listen to it again and again.  Thanks for taking the time to post that.

Laura



The World of Goo Boards » Powered by YaBB 1 Gold - SP 1.3.1!
YaBB 2000-2003. All Rights Reserved.