The World of Goo Boards (http://www.musicfanclubs.org/cgi-bin/ggd/YaBB.cgi)
Off Topic Board >> Archived Concert Review and Fan Pictures Forum >> my Louisville review with MORE pics. . .
(Message started by: goober_1013 on Feb 10th, 2007, 12:32am)

Title: my Louisville review with MORE pics. . .
Post by goober_1013 on Feb 10th, 2007, 12:32am
My Goo review as of 1:23 am.

Alrighty. . .my head, my ears, my throat and my hands hurt. . .in that order.  

That being said, the sold out Louisville concert was awesome like whoa. . .like whoa.

Me and my sister Tiff got there about 7:20 and first thing we did was head out to the merchandise stand.  Lots-o-cool stuff there.  Got me two shirts and a necklace, Tiff got the super cool Goo jacket.  I regret not getting that, but I’m going again next month so I’ll get it then.

I chatted a bit with 2 other sisters/Goo fans who were sitting next to us.  Then a bit with the girl in front of us who passed out black balloons.  They were all uber cool.  Then they started talking amongst themselves telling their Goo stories ‘n such.  And of course, I wanted to jump in too, but I thought that would be rude so I just listened.  They both had great Goo stories. . .

Opening act.  The Elms.  They were really good.  They’re lead guitarist was awesome!  After their set, I went and bought their album and was standing in line to get it signed, but it was taking too long and I was way too paranoid to wait for fear I would miss Goo.  So we run back to our seats and wait about 20 minutes. . .I had plenty of time, but a girl has to be sure!

Finally, the lights dim and this crazy cool music starts blaring and BAM!  It’s Dizzy!  They tore it up!  Then they did Slide and after that, I don’t remember what order anything else was in.  Poor Rzeznik was so sick.  He would step away from the mic and cough, but despite being sick, he was very much into the crowd.  First thing he said was that we were “a noisy bunch.”  He mentioned that someone had given him a care package with cold medicine in it and he was feeling better.  Someone in the front said that it was from the girl next to him and Rzeznik said, “Well now that I know it’s from you, I’m feeling a lot better!”  Then he made this little growl noise. . .very cute.  He messed up in the beginning of Become and mumbled something along the lines of, “screw it!” and just kept going.  We laughed.

I know other fans have mentioned this, but it is really weird to see him not playing the guitar.  For Slide, he just handed it over to Damage and after a bit he went to hand it back and he just waved him off.  But ya know, he had a lot more interaction with the crowd without the guitar than I can remember at previous concerts.  He was on the floor, reaching out and touching people’s hands, working both sides of the stage.  Still weird though to see him without it. . .

Robby sang January Friend and Tucked Away then a bit later in the set Burnin’ Up, which was my absolute fav song of the night.  I just love how he really belts it out.  And the looks he gives, priceless.  
When they did Iris Rzeznik did the thing where he made the crowd sing the chorus.  He said we had to help him “sing this song” but I have a feeling he might get tired of singing that one.  Really who can blame him though. . .he’s sang it like a thousand times!  
Very cool part though during Iris. . .when it gets to the slow part in the song and then stops, they stopped all the music and the lights went out.  The crowd goes crazy and it stays like that, dark with people screaming their heads off, me included.  Then the lights come back on, bright, and there was Rzeznik at the very end of the stage with the mic out over the crowd and just belts out the chorus along with the crowd.  Amazing!

For the encore they did Acoustic #3 which is even more beautiful live, then Naked and Give A Little Bit.  The new Naked intro is kick ass!

And then it was over.  Tiff turned to me at this point and said, “I miss them.”  It has been 3 years since my last Goo concert and it was like going to my first one all over again. . .so I missed them when they were gone, too.  But my voice needs a rest.  I was screaming so hard, I could feel my legs shaking!  Not to mention all the singing. . .most of the people in our section I think were fan club members. . .we had our own little mini Goo choir going on.

I’ve got some pics, from two different cameras.  The first camera didn’t zoom in as well as the other and I had to do some major cropping and resizing.  I’ve got to take the other camera to Walgreens before I can post them.  But here’s just a few to tide ya over.

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e215/goober_1013/louisville04a.jpg

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e215/goober_1013/louisville03a.jpg

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e215/goober_1013/louisville02a.jpg

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e215/goober_1013/louisville01a.jpg

I'm off to bed now. . .I might have some more thoughts in the morning, but I wanted to type it all out while it was still fresh in my mind.

Is it March yet?

. . . ;D


Title: Re: my Louisville review with pics. . .
Post by GlitteringGoo on Feb 10th, 2007, 1:03am
great review! yes i adore the new naked intro as well!

Title: Re: my Louisville review with pics. . .
Post by the purple o on Feb 10th, 2007, 7:28am
Great review!! It must have been an amazing night. :D

Title: Re: my Louisville review with pics. . .
Post by the orange o on Feb 10th, 2007, 10:37pm
Thanks for the review.

It's sad to hear John's not playing the guitar for Slide. Geeze,  I wonder if he's going to stop playing altogether.


Title: Re: my Louisville review with pics. . .
Post by Shannon on Feb 11th, 2007, 9:22am
Thanks so much for the terrific review and pictures. I'm so glad you had such a great night....especially after a 3 year hiatus.

I can't get used to John without a guitar either....it just doesn't seem natural :-/

Title: Re: my Louisville review with pics. . .
Post by goober_1013 on Feb 11th, 2007, 4:32pm
ok, got the rest of my pics in. . .i'm only gonna post a few cuz after awhile, they all kinda start to look the same. . .Rzeznik looking to the left, Rzeznik looking to the right, Rzeznik playing guitar. . .Robby with big crazy eyes looking to left, Robby with big crazy eyes looking to the right. . .

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e215/goober_1013/DSCF1140.jpg
this is just a quick glimpse of The Palace theatre.  it's really beautiful, there's even art on the ceiling, it's amazing.
http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e215/goober_1013/louisville07.jpg
this one is kinda creepy because of the orb, which i know is just the lighting, but The Palace in Louisville is said to be haunted. . .
http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e215/goober_1013/louisville10.jpg
http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e215/goober_1013/louisville13.jpg
i LURVE this one!!
http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e215/goober_1013/louisville21.jpg
this one of Robby is my absolute favorite of the whole bunch.  the look on his face is priceless, plus the arms in the air. . .that is what a concert is supossed to look like. . .

i've got a slideshow up on my myspace page with all the pics if your interested. . .

http://www.myspace.com/goober1013

. . . ;D

Title: Re: my Louisville review with pics. . .
Post by DWG on Feb 11th, 2007, 4:42pm

on 02/11/07 at 16:32:14, goober_1013 wrote:
ok, got the rest of my pics in. . .i'm only gonna post a few cuz after awhile, they all kinda start to look the same. . .Rzeznik looking to the left, Rzeznik looking to the right, Rzeznik playing guitar. . .Robby with big crazy eyes looking to left, Robby with big crazy eyes looking to the right. . .

lol...that's funny. Yet so true. I was looking at someone's pictures the other day, and there were so many of them, and they were so similar, I started scrolling through so fast, it looked like one of those old nickelodeon movies. Then my computer froze up. I'll take a look at your slideshow though. Thanks for sharing that, and glad you had fun at the show.

That picture of the Palace theatre is beautiful. I remember when the Goos played the Palace in Albany, NY back on the Gutterflower tour, John mentioned that he loved those beautiful old theatres. I wonder why so many of them were called "the Palace"?

Title: Re: my Louisville review with MORE pics. . .
Post by the redo on Feb 11th, 2007, 4:46pm
Thanks for the review and pictures!  I too love the Palace wall one.  I'm so jealous of the pretty venues you guys get.  This past tour I had an outdoor amphitheatre, half of an arena, and a fugly casino convention room.

Title: Re: my Louisville review with MORE pics. . .
Post by DWG on Feb 11th, 2007, 4:58pm

on 02/11/07 at 16:46:38, the redo wrote:
 I'm so jealous of the pretty venues you guys get.  This past tour I had an outdoor amphitheatre, half of an arena, and a fugly casino convention room.

Isn't Shea's all spruced up? They should play there.

Title: Re: my Louisville review with MORE pics. . .
Post by Gutterrose on Feb 11th, 2007, 6:05pm
About the orbs........they are also in a few of the meet and greet pics. Thanks for sharing your pics. I was there but didn't take any for the reasons already mentioned. I have too many from the last tour.

Title: Re: my Louisville review with MORE pics. . .
Post by goober_1013 on Feb 11th, 2007, 8:35pm

on 02/11/07 at 18:05:47, Gutterrose wrote:
About the orbs........they are also in a few of the meet and greet pics. Thanks for sharing your pics. I was there but didn't take any for the reasons already mentioned. I have too many from the last tour.


hmm. . .very, very interesting. . .i like to think of myself as a VERY ameteur ghost hunter (i've been up to Waverly Hills twice with my super lame ghost hunting skills).  i've got a couple of others that had some orbs, but they were all taken when they were on stage so the lights count for most of that. . .

went to the Louisville Ghost Hunter's Society page and found this if anyone is interested. . .

http://www.louisvilleghs.com/LGHS_MASTER/SUB/Legends/The%20Palace%20Theatre/The_Palace_Theatre.htm

. . . ;D

Title: Re: my Louisville review with MORE pics. . .
Post by DWG on Feb 11th, 2007, 8:39pm
That's weird that the orbs showed up in some meet & greet pictures.

o_O

I remember reading about orbs showing up in pictures from another venue, I think it was somewhere on the first leg of the LLI tour. Not sure if it was the same venue or a different one. That place was reputed to be haunted as well. Strange stuff.

Title: Re: my Louisville review with MORE pics. . .
Post by the redo on Feb 11th, 2007, 8:49pm

on 02/11/07 at 16:58:55, DWG wrote:
Isn't Shea's all spruced up? They should play there.


Shea's is very pretty.  And they even ring that little formal bell in the main hall before the concert starts.

So yeah, you get to work on making the Goos play Shea's.

Orbs.  Maybe the Goos are haunted...

Title: Re: my Louisville review with MORE pics. . .
Post by DWG on Feb 11th, 2007, 8:53pm

on 02/11/07 at 20:49:52, the redo wrote:
So yeah, you get to work on making the Goos play Shea's.


yes'm.



The World of Goo Boards » Powered by YaBB 1 Gold - SP 1.3.1!
YaBB © 2000-2003. All Rights Reserved.