The World of Goo Boards (http://www.musicfanclubs.org/cgi-bin/ggd/YaBB.cgi)
Off Topic Board >> Archived Concert Review and Fan Pictures Forum >> Wilkes Barre Review!
(Message started by: GlitteringGoo on Feb 4th, 2007, 1:11am)

Title: Wilkes Barre Review!
Post by GlitteringGoo on Feb 4th, 2007, 1:11am
It's always a super fun night when the Goo's play the Kirby Center. I had the pleasure of being there 5 years ago too and that was the night I first met the guys so returning tonight I knew would be another unforgetable time. The only downside of the night was a yuppie wannabe 'Goo fan' who was on her cell bragging to her kids about meeting the Goo's at a meet and greet. This is what the lady said "the one that looks like a puppy he was nice but the lead singer Johnny whatever his name is Rzeznik was not nice at all." Sure the guys can have a bad day and maybe not be nice but it just pissed me off that she didn't know who they even were and made a judgement on them. It also annoyed me that someone like her got to meet them when there's so many other more appercitive fans. ANYWAY The show was amazing! John started playing one song and he's like "Hmm that sounded like a Lisa Loeb song. I love Lisa Loeb, I want her ssssssssssoooo bad. I just want to see her with her glasses off ... like on the night stand." haha it was too funny. Then when he started to play Can't Let It Go, he's like "I'm still not sure of this song, it kinda sounds like a cowboy song." Robby rocked I was so thrilled he did Burnin Up. The guys were so energetic and talkative, I'm so glad they picked Wilkes Barre to kick off this tour.

Here's the setlist ...

dizzy, slide, big machine, black balloon, feel the silence, january friend, tucked away, name, broadway, become, stay with you, here is gone, burnin up, can't let it go, we'll be here (when you're gone), better days, iris, let love in ENCORE acoustic #3, naked and give a lil bit

i didn't win a meet and greet so i stayed outside in the about -10 degree weather til midnight and got to quickly say hi, thank you and bye to John and Robby as they got on the tour bus which was super nice. I so needed a good night and tonight hit the spot and then some!

I took over 200 pictures and a couple videos, I'll post them as soon as I can!

~Heather

Title: Re: Wilkes Barre Review!
Post by Nicole on Feb 4th, 2007, 8:46am
Thanks for the review! It must have been a great night. I like the new set list better than the one they used for the winter tour, probably because they're playing Dizzy, Can't Let it Go, and Here is Gone.  ;D
I can't wait to see the pictures.

Title: Re: Wilkes Barre Review!
Post by Shannon on Feb 4th, 2007, 9:51am
Now that's a setlist! Dizzy, Big Machine, Here is Gone, Can't Let it Go, Acoustic #3 ..... I'm in heaven! I can't wait for my shows in March :nanner: :nanner:

Thanks so much for posting your review Heather. I'm so glad you had a good night too.

Title: Re: Wilkes Barre Review!
Post by Kaye1122 on Feb 4th, 2007, 10:32am
Heather! Great review. I love John's sense of humor. Can't wait to see your pics and vids..

Kaye

Title: Re: Wilkes Barre Review!
Post by the redo on Feb 4th, 2007, 10:51am
Thanks for the review.   Glad to hear they sounded good and EXTREMELY happy to see the setlist has been lengthened.  I love the Lisa Loeb comment.

I hesitate to say it, but the setlist isn't that awesome to me.  Improvement over the last one?  YES!  But compared to the past ones, no.  Same number of LLI songs as the past tour (too many).  And it's a funny thing to say, but they have too many singles to play them all.  Aside from Robby songs and LLI songs, there is only one non-single - Acoustic #3, which I'll admit right now doesn't really excite me all that much.  They really really need to add something more from ABNG or SSCW and switch out a single or 2 (I personally never have to hear GALB ever again).  The casual fans wouldn't notice a single or two missing and the fans who have heard the singles 385638 times would all be soooo happy to hear something a little less common.

Or maybe it's just me and I'll never be happy.  That could be the case...

Title: Re: Wilkes Barre Review!
Post by the black o on Feb 4th, 2007, 11:13am
At least it's 21 songs this time. :)

Title: Re: Wilkes Barre Review!
Post by carlyn on Feb 4th, 2007, 12:58pm
I love the new setlist!!!  I'm so excited to see them in March now!!

Title: Re: Wilkes Barre Review!
Post by goober_1013 on Feb 4th, 2007, 5:06pm
whoo-hoo!!

thanks for the review, sounds like a great time was had by all!  and the new setlist?  whoo-hoo again!

my concert is friday, hopefully they've still got some of that energy. . . ;D

Title: Re: Wilkes Barre Review!
Post by Shannon on Feb 4th, 2007, 5:54pm

Quote:
Then when he started to play Can't Let It Go, he's like "I'm still not sure of this song, it kinda sounds like a cowboy song."

That's funny to me because I don't think it sounds like a cowboy/country song at all. If anything it reminds me of Always Know Where You Are. It's got the same groove. It's one of my favorites on LLI.....I even have it as a ringtone. I couldn't be happier it's in the rotation. :jammin:

Title: Re: Wilkes Barre Review!
Post by the redo on Feb 4th, 2007, 8:37pm

on 02/04/07 at 11:22:52, Drew wrote:
Do they do a regular setlist at college performances or shorter ones? I wonder what they'll play at Sacred Heart.


In the past the college shows have not been treated any different than regular shows.

Title: Re: Wilkes Barre Review!
Post by GlitteringGoo on Feb 4th, 2007, 11:56pm

on 02/04/07 at 17:54:42, Shannon wrote:
That's funny to me because I don't think it sounds like a cowboy/country song at all. If anything it reminds me of Always Know Where You Are. It's got the same groove. It's one of my favorites on LLI.....I even have it as a ringtone. I couldn't be happier it's in the rotation. :jammin:


i love that song too and once he mentioned it i did hear the country vibe to it but oh well. it sounded great and i'm so glad they played it! i'm so glad naked is back in he set as well, that song is what married me to the Goo's back in the day. i honestly wish without you here was on the setlist cuz they didn't play that at hershey over the summer so i've never heard it live yet and that song is one of my faves off LLI. and wow Become, i love it on album but my God does it hit a cord with me live. i literally cry everytime i hear it live. it's just so moving and before i know it tears are running down my face. i think it's just the connection john has with the auidence during the song, as he does with each song but something about that one ... phew just amazing.

Title: Re: Wilkes Barre Review!
Post by googirl28 on Feb 5th, 2007, 3:46pm
I can't believe someone who doesn't even appreciate who they are won a meet and greet........I am a little disappointed because I didn't win a mng for 2/13........ not too thrilled with the setlist......but will take anything............thanks for the review........

:flower:

Title: Re: Wilkes Barre Review!
Post by GlitteringGoo on Feb 5th, 2007, 8:35pm

on 02/05/07 at 15:46:12, googirl28 wrote:
I can't believe someone who doesn't even appreciate who they are won a meet and greet........I am a little disappointed because I didn't win a mng for 2/13........ not too thrilled with the setlist......but will take anything............thanks for the review........

:flower:


i don't think it was an inner machine meet and greet. it was either radio or cuz the lady knew someone at the venue. all the inner machine people were all together and this lady was seperate.

i think the setlist is pretty good, i'd only add What A Scene, Two Days in Feb, Sympathy, Without You Here and Only One. I'd also love to here James Dean live, i've never been to a show were they've done it so i'd die if they did lol.



The World of Goo Boards » Powered by YaBB 1 Gold - SP 1.3.1!
YaBB 2000-2003. All Rights Reserved.