The World of Goo Boards (http://www.musicfanclubs.org/cgi-bin/ggd/YaBB.cgi)
Off Topic Board >> Archived Concert Review and Fan Pictures Forum >> Niagara Falls 12/29/06
(Message started by: the redo on Dec 29th, 2006, 11:21pm)

Title: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by the redo on Dec 29th, 2006, 11:21pm
So, what lead up to tonight?  I had protested the ticket prices and the shitty venue and spewed forth the wrath about this show.  I know.  I know.  But, I figured I would be all mad and mopey on my birthday if I didn't go and fortunately, by some luck, an auction on Music is Healing, and a very very wonderful Goo fan, I got a ticket to this very very very sold out show.

Anyways... the casino is only a half hour from my house, but I don't venture into Niagara Falls, because, well, why would anyone?  Totally created my own way to the casino, ignoring all directions, no hassles.  Met up with aforementioned very very wonderful Goo fan and got a ticket.  

The venue... I firmly stand by my "this venue sucks" claim.  No elevation, just chairs set up on an empty floor.  The rows were all crazy and there were huge gaping aisles where seats definitely could have been.  I wasn't expecting awesome seats by any means.  But my seat was so far to the right, I was almost sideways to the stage.  And they had these wonderful black curtains on each side of thr tiny tiny stage, so the view was further obstructed.  I will admit the sound was really nice.  Loud, but not so loud everything mushes together.  But the venue sucks.  The end.

The crowd... Heeeeeeey, highrollers.  You just sat on your ass at the slots for 1236496 hours to get those free tickets, stand up.  The crowd was lame.  Embarrassingly lame if you consider it's Buffalo (sorta).  People were leaving and coming, sitting, just standing there, just lame. (Except the dude in front of me, who was constantly grabbing at and kissing his wife.  Icky icky icky.  I recorded audio with my video setting on my camera.  Since I wasn't trying to videotape, the video just recorded at my stomach level, and all you can see is this guy grabbing at his wife...).  Mixed in with the "crowd" was a freaking who's who convention of the online goo community.  I saw a whooooole bunch of people who I recognized, even though I've never spoken to any of them.  (And I shared a row with someone who doesn't post here anymore, but used to a whole lot.  If you're reading this, I'm glad to see you're still a fan, even if you're not "one of us" anymore.)

No opener.  Which is surprising, as J Garvy's site said he would be opening.  No curtains of lights, no screens on the drums, etc.  Just lights.  Super small stage.

Goos come out.  It's "the setlist".  You know, the one that will haunt 2006.  Not very talkative at all.  After Slide, John harrassed his sister, who was sitting in the front row.  He accused her of sitting on his head and farting when they were little.  She seemed to want him to leave her alone, but he told her that's what ya get for sitting in the front row.  It was really funny and I had high hopes they were in chatty moods, but there was very little banter.  I don't like the same rehearsed banter every night, but none at all is kinda disappointing.  John did wear a big purple boa for a moment and they talked about Dave Navarro's eyebrow hair and how he'd get his ass beat on Chipewa.  Robby was talking about how in the audience there were former classmates and neighbors and friends, and gave a shoutout to the highrollers.  Ugh.  Made worse because he (I think it was Robby) said it was an awesome venue, which it really isn't.  

Naked... I need to go find recent videos of John playing the Naked solo.  The guitar solo poses he was making were ridiculous.  I have remarked that I just want John to keep his hands on the guitar, but maybe I don't want him to solo.  I cringed.  I can't even describe it right now.

Korel... has he always sung a WHOLE lot of background?  He was overwhelmingly loud for January Friend and much too loud for some of John's songs and it sounded really bad.

There's been speculation that Without You Here will be the next single, but they didn't play it (maybe they did and it's a blur, I'll correct myself later...).  I recorded 61 minutes of audio, which I started in the middle of Feel the Silence.  If we give them 12 minutes (generous) for SWY, Slide, brief banter, and some of FTS, we get a 73 minute show.  Most expensive tickets were $100, least expensive were $65.  No opener, no stage set up.

Maybe it's just me.  I experienced the 7/4/04 concert and that's an experience I can't describe.  I have been front row.  But I really wasn't very impressed at all this show.  It's easily the worst show I've seen.  It was like complete autopilot.  It's like they didn't really care if it was a good show or not.  They just wanted to get off the stage and do something else.  And in return, I wasn't enjoying the show very much.  I didn't even sing along.  :-/  I think some people think I just try to say bad things about the Goos these days.  But I attended 2 other concerts this year and if you go search for my reviews, I said the Goos' performances were pretty good for both of those shows.


Ugh.  Is 2006 over yet?

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by Shannon on Dec 29th, 2006, 11:33pm
Someone over on the IM said virtually the same things you did about the venue. It's too bad they chose it. Casinos are definitely not shows for the true fans.

I'm sorry, on the eve of your birthday, that this show didn't live up to past shows for you. :'(  Hopefully in the new year they'll revamp the setlist a bit and give us some of the old stuff we've been begging for this year.

Thanks for taking the time to write up a review.

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by the black o on Dec 29th, 2006, 11:36pm
Thanks for taking a moment to write a review.
Sorry the show sucked so much.
Here's hoping for a better year in 2007.
Happy Birthday The Redo!!

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by the redo on Dec 29th, 2006, 11:51pm

on 12/29/06 at 23:29:01, the bleu o wrote:
Thanks for the review. I'm sorry it wasn't great.

Was John's solo different from in the album version? If so, did it sound cool at least? Even if he did make weird stances haha.


Oh, it sounded very good. He just looked really ridiculous playing. Your shoulder just shouldn't roll around the way his was. I need video...


And don't worry, the show didn't ruin my life or anything. I would have probably been more sad if I didn't go because I wouldn't believe it kinda sucked unless I saw it myself. Was still a better night than it would have been if I had just milled around my house for the night. :D

And... I'll just add my drive home story because why not make fun of myself?  I mentioned I randomly made up my own way to the casino.  Well... the way home didn't work that way.  So I accidentally got on a bunch of expressways I've never driven on before, took a more detailed tour of the Tonawandas than I ever needed to take, pulled over to read a map twice, and crossed into Erie county more than once when I should have never left Niagara county. My half hour drive took well over an hour.  Yeah... and I've lived here all my life.  ::)

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by the redo on Dec 30th, 2006, 1:35am
Here's the first half of the audio I recorded.  It starts a minute or so into Feel the Silence, the third song.  Most downloads have two songs.  I'm no sound engineer (I almost said "I'm no engineer" but then I remembered I actually am an engineer... hmm... haven't thought about that in a while...) so the sound isn't like a professional recording, but I like it a whole lot better than the "BDMPHEEEEEEEEEEEEEK" sound my old camera recorded at concerts...

 http://www.yousendit.com/download/k4xyWpcywLh5TA%3D%3D

http://www.yousendit.com/download/k4xyWjoBwLh5TA%3D%3D

http://www.yousendit.com/download/k4won%2B%2Bxp3l5TA%3D%3D

http://www.yousendit.com/download/k4won94HoxN5TA%3D%3D

More after noon but before 4...

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by the purple o on Dec 30th, 2006, 7:20am
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and upload the audio. I'm sorry the concert sucked.  :(

Happy Birthday

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by Shannon on Dec 30th, 2006, 9:57am
Thanks for all the audio Nicole. It's so nice just to hear them live :-*  I did finally have to crack and register at yousendit http://bestsmileys.com/computer1/19.gif

Ahhhhh....Name :love:  This song makes me go all soft and mushy inside as soon as I hear the first note.

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by the black o on Dec 30th, 2006, 10:43am
Thanks for the audio!! :) :) :) :)
Downloading it now, as I type this.
Happy Birthday Nicole!!

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by The Cerulean O on Dec 30th, 2006, 11:05am
Maddy is le happy kitten.
Yeah. I think I've become more of a freak than ever before....What is in these cookies my mom made?

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by the redo on Dec 30th, 2006, 11:54am
Ha ha, I did in London.  I was prepared this time.

And, though I didn't record it, the opening to SWY was different.  They didn't just jump onstage and start the song.  There was some weird music playing and I thought it was an opening band.

I just got home from birthday breakfast, so uploading will start in a moment...

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by the redo on Dec 30th, 2006, 12:15pm

on 12/30/06 at 12:05:52, the bleu o wrote:
They didn't play Naked at the concert I went to so I had no idea they changed it up. A more electric intro would have been cooler, but this intro was a step above the drum solo one in my opinion. I had no idea SWY had a different intro either. Seems to me that they've started changing how they play the songs sooner than they used to. Could they already be getting tired of them? Oh well, I like it when they change the music up. 8)

How was breakfast? Go to IHOP? Get a lot of bacon?


I DID go to IHOP.  Not by my own doing though, my friend wanted to go there.  And no bacon.  I got sausage instead, which I didn't eat anyways...

I love the Naked drum solo.  I think the current intro is a little 'fruity', but I will at least appreciate the attempt to make things a little different.  I really wish I had recorded the SWY intro, but I didn't realize I could record for the audio that early on...

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by The Cerulean O on Dec 30th, 2006, 12:30pm
They didn't play Naked at the concert I went to back in July. :(
(My autographed setlist keeps fooling me, cuz it says they did, but they played Name at that point in the show...)

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by the redo on Dec 30th, 2006, 12:30pm
The rest.  :D

http://www.yousendit.com/download/k4xxUeS7BId5TA%3D%3D

http://www.yousendit.com/download/k4zFBXqXz4N5TA%3D%3D

http://www.yousendit.com/download/k4zFBSxUbWx5TA%3D%3D

http://www.yousendit.com/download/k4zFBU5vz4N5TA%3D%3D

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by The Cerulean O on Dec 30th, 2006, 12:38pm
Huzzah!
(yes, I did just say Huzzah. What?)

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by the redo on Dec 30th, 2006, 12:41pm
Yeah, the "want to request a song?" thing really annoyed me.  They were gonna play Broadway anyways.  I wonder if anyone even requested Broadway...

And the lighting wouldn't have been an issue, because there were no light curtains.  Just regular lights.

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by The Cerulean O on Dec 30th, 2006, 12:52pm
When they play Broadway, it's obvious that they're gonna...He uses a specific Guitar for it....The yellow one....
I like the yellow one...^_^

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by Shannon on Dec 30th, 2006, 1:08pm
I really hope their next single isn't Become either. That song doesn't really do it for me. I love it live but it bores me on the CD.

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by the purple o on Dec 30th, 2006, 2:46pm
Thanks for the rest of the songs Nicole!

I think We'll Be Here will be the next single.

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by the orange o on Dec 30th, 2006, 3:11pm
Thanks for taking the time to upload those for us  ;D

Sorry you were disappointed in the show.

I know what you mean about John posing. I have found his "moves" to look very rehearsed during this tour. I hate when he prances around with his guitar flopping all over and his dramatics during Become and WYH.

I don't remember John being so dramatic prior to LLI - maybe the new songs inspire him to be dramatic :-/

And, didn't he used to razz on Bon Jovi for all of Jon's "stage moves"?


Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by SSCW dilapidated building on Dec 30th, 2006, 4:37pm

on 12/30/06 at 12:25:50, the bleu o wrote:
It would be kind of cool if each time an album was put out, they added solos to older songs that made them sound more like the current album.


Nooooooooooooo!!

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by the redo on Dec 30th, 2006, 5:37pm
Yeah... I'm gonna have to side with the dilapidated building on this one...

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by The Cerulean O on Dec 30th, 2006, 6:37pm
I agree! I think it could be awesome.
(Course, I think anything the Goos do is awesome, so...)

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by SSCW dilapidated building on Dec 30th, 2006, 8:14pm
Ever since Bon Jovi "poopified" all their songs on "This Left Feels Right", such ideas make me shudder.  lol.

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by the purple o on Dec 30th, 2006, 8:20pm

on 12/30/06 at 20:14:40, SSCW dilapidated building wrote:
Ever since Bon Jovi "poopified" all their songs on "This Left Feels Right", such ideas make me shudder.  lol.

Agreed, that cd is so bizarre. Some of the acoustics are good but, You Give Love a Bad Name from that CD makes me cover my ears and quickly change the song.

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by the purple o on Dec 30th, 2006, 9:18pm

on 12/30/06 at 20:53:10, the bleu o wrote:
I only heard one song off that and that was enough to make me not want to hear any more. But I'm not talking about redoing a song; just a different solo at the beginning.

You are definitely not missing out. Is there new intros for some songs on EOAC?

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by the black o on Dec 30th, 2006, 9:20pm
Funny you should mention that, considering I bought EOAC today.  Only copy in Best Buy.

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by the orange o on Dec 30th, 2006, 9:42pm

on 12/30/06 at 17:58:38, the bleu o wrote:
Oh, you'll see. The Goos are gonna do it and it's gonna sound awesome and then you'll be sorry you didn't agree.

But seriously, wouldn't Long Way Down sound cool with a DUTG twist? Or Just The Way You Are with a SSCW twist? Doesn't have to be every song. A couple would be cool.


As long as they don't make any other old songs sound like songs from LLI.

Title: Re: Niagara Falls 12/29/06
Post by the white o on Dec 31st, 2006, 11:15am

on 12/30/06 at 21:42:24, the orange o wrote:
As long as they don't make any other old songs sound like songs from LLI.


I like LLI. But I also like their old songs too. Because they're different. I like when a band changes throughout the years because you get to grow with them, and get to have a different tastes in music too!



The World of Goo Boards » Powered by YaBB 1 Gold - SP 1.3.1!
YaBB 2000-2003. All Rights Reserved.