The World of Goo Boards (http://www.musicfanclubs.org/cgi-bin/ggd/YaBB.cgi)
Off Topic Board >> Archived Concert Review and Fan Pictures Forum >> Pepsi Smash review!!!
(Message started by: ShanGooFan on Feb 2nd, 2006, 10:33pm)

Title: Pepsi Smash review!!!
Post by ShanGooFan on Feb 2nd, 2006, 10:33pm
I just got back from the Pepsi Smash and there's so much to tell I don't know where to start. This could be long so beware.

My friend Terri and I got down to the Theater around 4:15 and ended up being 4th in line. We waited in that line for 21/2 hours. It wasn't too cold but after that long I couldn't feel my toes. Security was EVERYWHERE!!!! The FBI, military and cops were everywhere. It was quite the site to see. It was for that reason we decided not to smuggle in our cameras. I did get a couple of pictures off the big screen with my camera phone. If they look decent I'll post them. We met some super great people in line. Talking and laughing with them really helped pass the time.

Once we got inside we ended up on the main floor, the VIP area. We were dead center behind the sound board. It was a perfect view because it was elevated up from the main floor. In the VIP area we were treated to a free spread of amazing food and free drinks ALL night!!

First up was Train. They switched the line up because the Goos were supposed to be first....at least that's what I was told by the manager at the State. Train was awesome live. I was really impressed. They played all their radio hits so I knew every song. The crowd was very responsive to them.

Now for the Goos!!!! The Goos opened with Big Machine and they sounded great!!! Terri and I were representing in the back so they would know their true fans were there too. We were singing, dancing and screaming for them. At one point between songs John commented about all the pretty girls in front and then asked the people in front how much they were paid to be there....HA...go John!! Terri and I figured it was a jab at VH1 for their rules about the "pretty, young people being in front". They really had the crowd going with Slide and Iris. The new keyboardist...sorry don't know his name... played one helluva mean sax during Broadway! It was so great I screamed myself hoarse. I hope they keep him. Broadway just isn't the same without the sax. Their setlist was.....
Big Machine
Black Balloon
Smash
Better Days
Slide
Here Is Gone
Broadway
Iris

There was a VIP section in front of us with a bunch of NFL players in it. I don't know who any of them were but there were many.

Nickleback was up next and boy were they loud. I loved their show but I am seriously deaf now. They opened with the new one from their album Animals....I love that song. They also did Photograph and all their radio hits. They also had an amazing pyrotechnics show.

We didn't stick around for Kanye West as we're not fans. But we met some of the nicest people tonight....in line and during the show. It was a really great night. I was super proud to call myself a Detroiter tonight!

Title: Re: Pepsi Smash review!!!
Post by tripper on Feb 2nd, 2006, 10:55pm
Shannon- I can't sleep- what a great time!

Oh- and Blessed by Goo- we thought of you- John said at the end of Iris- Give yourself some love!! And I screamed the best time ever-ever!! LOL!  We were thinking about you and all the other true fans that weren't bribed to be there. Can't wait for the next tour.

Detroit- you made me proud tonight!  :D

Tripper

Title: Re: Pepsi Smash review!!!
Post by ShanGooFan on Feb 2nd, 2006, 10:57pm

Quote:
Detroit- you made me proud tonight!

Amen Goo Sista!!!!

I can't sleep either and I have to get up early. :-/

Title: Re: Pepsi Smash review!!!
Post by sympathy_0 on Feb 3rd, 2006, 6:57am
THANKS for the review .. sounded like an amazing show!!!!

Title: Re: Pepsi Smash review!!!
Post by googirl28 on Feb 3rd, 2006, 9:13am
OMG -- sounds like you guys had an awesome time.  Ya'll are soooo lucky  to have been able to attend!!  Thanks for the review!!!!!  

Title: Re: Pepsi Smash review!!!
Post by Helengoo on Feb 3rd, 2006, 11:58am
Great review...couldn't have said it better my self. They were awsome....I was up in the balcony and my only problem was the dirty looks people gave my friend & I were given when we were standing up screaming.....other than that I had an awsome time..... ;D

Title: Re: Pepsi Smash review!!!
Post by tkc1989 on Feb 3rd, 2006, 12:06pm
hey thanks for the review shannon! i read over at absolute goo that john messed up big time on big machine! lol- care to tell us more...? ;)

Title: Re: Pepsi Smash review!!!
Post by ShanGooFan on Feb 3rd, 2006, 12:29pm
Tim, I don't know if anyone but a Goo fan would have noticed the slip up. He just stumbled over some of the words and kept on going. But then he was smiling and laughing to himself. He knew he messed it up. It wasn't nearly as noticeable a slip up as he usually does with Sympathy. Really only the fans who knew the song would have noticed. But it was cute nonetheless. I love that about John...he's just real.

Title: Re: Pepsi Smash review!!!
Post by Skkyer on Feb 3rd, 2006, 3:52pm
It sounds like a really great show.  Thanks for giving us all the info about it.

Hugs,
Skkyer

Title: Re: Pepsi Smash review!!!
Post by crazy4goo on Feb 3rd, 2006, 4:20pm
Thanks for the review Shannon, as always it was great! Man...you really do know all the right people, don't ya?!

Title: Re: Pepsi Smash review!!!
Post by tkc1989 on Feb 3rd, 2006, 5:25pm

on 02/03/06 at 12:29:41, ShanGooFan wrote:
Tim, I don't know if anyone but a Goo fan would have noticed the slip up. He just stumbled over some of the words and kept on going. But then he was smiling and laughing to himself. He knew he messed it up. It wasn't nearly as noticeable a slip up as he usually does with Sympathy. Really only the fans who knew the song would have noticed. But it was cute nonetheless. I love that about John...he's just real.


oh right cool lol yea i love the way john messes up! like on the version of girl right next to me...so classic- no attempt to cover it up or make up for it lol- priceless :D

Title: Re: Pepsi Smash review!!!
Post by blessed_by_goo on Feb 4th, 2006, 1:23am
               TRIPPER & SHANNON.....

You guys musta been telepathically feelin my pain....
I wanted to go SOOOOO bad
Wish I was there.....
I was thinking during the time the show was goin on
about how we all roasted in that freakin sun all day
and our gathering at the pub afterward...LMAO
we're all sitting there looking like fried lobsta (maine)  
    :hahaha: :hahaha:                                          you have gotta both
PM me you're telephone #'s
so we can talk sometime...
and hey..... my door is always open to you two up here in the northeastern territory for Goo gathering  I gottya covered from Maine to NYC
my best friend and folks live in CT...a 45 min train ride (15$) from NYC
and anywhere north of CT is a doable car ride so....
OHHHH and Tripper ...don't worry I'll be lookin for the blue lights..... I'll get us a great deal on bulk SPF 45 sunblock, as I'm sure we'll be well on our way into the summer months again before our boys get back on the road......  
BUT Yeah we gotta do it again you guys were so much fun.....
                                    Thanks for thinkin of me
                            (I almost feel like I was there)
   Great Review Shannon!  ;D           Keep in touch  :grouphug: ~ Blessed By Goo... Kari      

Title: Re: Pepsi Smash review!!!
Post by rzezniksangel on Feb 4th, 2006, 9:42pm
Sounds like you girls had a great time.  Thanks for the review.

After watching the two songs we got to see on VH1...I really really really can't wait for the new tour to start!!!

Title: Re: Pepsi Smash review!!!
Post by januaryfriend27 on Feb 5th, 2006, 10:53am

on 02/04/06 at 21:42:43, rzezniksangel wrote:
After watching the two songs we got to see on VH1...I really really really can't wait for the new tour to start!!!




DITTO LOL

Title: Re: Pepsi Smash review!!!
Post by the_girl_right_next_to_him on Feb 5th, 2006, 1:16pm
I am so glad we didn't have to endure Kanye (aka self proclaimed Jesus).  What happened with him?  Did he even show up?  I wonder what the scoop is with that?  I enjoyed Train and Nickelback as well as loving our Goo!  Nice hour of TV.

girl_right_next_to_him - Michael (go steelers)

Title: Re: Pepsi Smash review!!!
Post by ShanGooFan on Feb 5th, 2006, 1:40pm
Kanye was there. He played right after Nickleback. He was the headliner. VH1 just didn't air it on their program because he's not a featured artist on VH1. I actually thought that was kind of funny. He was the headliner and he didn't even make it onto TV.

Train the and Goos each played about 8 songs. Nickleback played a few more. I think Kanye was on even longer but I don't know for sure since I didn't stay. Terri and I went to the State Bar, which is attached to the State Theater, and had a few drinks after we left. We could hear Kanye's show from the bar and all the way outside when we finally went to the car to leave. It was really loud. I can only imagine what Nickleback sounded like to those outside. I think my ears are still ringing from them.

Title: Re: Pepsi Smash review!!!
Post by the_girl_right_next_to_him on Feb 5th, 2006, 2:48pm
Thanks!  I always thought that to headline with Kanye was weird with the other bands playing...kinda like oil and water.... So glad you got to go.  I am so jealous!  Someday...I'm hopeful this summer's tour will jive with our schedules!  ANYHOOO.  Thanks for clearing that up.  My husband likes that Kanye "gold digger" song and was wondering where he was. ;D



The World of Goo Boards » Powered by YaBB 1 Gold - SP 1.3.1!
YaBB 2000-2003. All Rights Reserved.