The World of Goo Boards (http://www.musicfanclubs.org/cgi-bin/ggd/YaBB.cgi)
Off Topic Board >> Archived Concert Review and Fan Pictures Forum >> My Detroit review!!!
(Message started by: Shannon on Jul 21st, 2006, 11:27pm)

Title: My Detroit review!!!
Post by Shannon on Jul 21st, 2006, 11:27pm
I'm happy to report the Detroit show was awesome!! No flying manholes or any other harmful things to interfere with Buffalo or Toronto ;) ...yes, Nicole I'm talking to you

My husband and I arrived early ... before the gates even opened. We were just sitting in the car and all of the sudden we could hear sound check. We got to hear the entire thing and it sounded GREAT! I hadn't really allowed myself to get too excited at this point. I couldn't take another disappointment if something went wrong....like flying manholes, etc. But as soon as I heard soundcheck I was PUMPED.

The time arrived to get our tickets at will call. Our seats were in row Q :o just right of center. I was definitely surprised how far back we were. We were all speculating our 'floor' seats would be in the pit....apparently not :-/. Once we got in there row Q actually was pretty good. It wasn't as close as I'd of hoped but it wasn't terrible either. The seating wasn't too filled at first so I had a great view for about 15-20 minutes and then everyone started going to their seats. Of course being only 5' tall pretty much sucks wherever you sit. And, as is my usual luck someone over 6' stood directly in front of me the entire time >:(

The show was FANTASTIC. The guys were energetic and happy. My husband has been to 3 shows with me over the years and said this stage setup is by far their best. He loved the background lights. At the very end of the show John apologized for not chatting too much but said they'd rather play music instead and the crowd went wild. John mentioned earlier in the show that Detroit and Buffalo are like kindred cities ... or something like that ... the crowd also went wild for that too. This show was sold out and the crowd loved the Goos. This was my first time hearing the new stuff off LLI and I LOVED it live. I'm still hoping at some point that they add Can't Let it Go .... please please Goos.

This is a setlist in no particular order:
Stay With You
Black Balloon
Iris
Name
Give A Little Bit
Better Days
Become
Listen
Tucked Away
Smash
Let Love In
We'll Be Here (When You're Gone)
Feel the Silence
Slide

encore:
Without You Here

I've seen the Goos many times over the years and I would have to totally disagree with the newspaper reviews I've been reading about them seeming bored and unenthusiastic. It's completely untrue. They were just as great tonight as they have been at every other show I've seen. I left there tonight wondering when the next show I can go to will be and hoping it's soon.

We stayed for a part of the CC set. They are musical storytellers. Their set ... even though it's rock is very mellow. Let's just say I smelled a joint or two being lit.

I'm too tired tonight but I will organize my pictures tomorrow and get them posted.

Title: Re: My Detroit review!!!
Post by collegegoofan on Jul 22nd, 2006, 10:56am
great review Shannon, thanks for sharing


Shannon

Title: Re: My Detroit review!!!
Post by Pondering My Fate on Jul 22nd, 2006, 12:57pm

on 07/21/06 at 23:27:21, Shannon wrote:
Of course being only 5' tall pretty much sucks wherever you sit. And, as is my usual luck someone over 6' stood directly in front of me the entire time >:(

This is pretty much the story of my life. ::)


But I'm glad you had fun, Shannon! :D Sounds like it was a great night.

Title: Re: My Detroit review!!!
Post by Shannon on Jul 22nd, 2006, 1:25pm
It's uncanny but it happens to me every where I go. My husband just laughs now. It doesn't matter where we go ... a concert, a movie ... but the tallest person in the place will end up directly in front of me. I had 4th row to a Keith Urban concert which you'd think would be awesome. Well a guy who was at least 6'4" and his girlfriend who had to be at least 5'8" were directly in front of me. They were a complete wall. I couldn't see at all.....4th row! This tall lady next to me finally took pity on me and let me trade with her which was a bit better but not much. It really does stink to be height challenged at concerts.

Title: Re: My Detroit review!!!
Post by y2goo_4ever on Jul 22nd, 2006, 7:15pm
I was at the show, I was in YY, much further back, but centre as well, I could actually see. Amazing show. I was really happy about that, it was my second show!

Great review!!  :yo:

Title: Re: My Detroit review!!!
Post by rzezniksangel on Jul 22nd, 2006, 9:32pm
Awesome review Shannon!!  Thanks for sharing.  

Title: Re: My Detroit review!!!
Post by YoursGOOLY on Jul 22nd, 2006, 11:16pm
Glad to hear about another FANTASTIC show!  :nanner:
Thanks for the review...

Title: Re: My Detroit review!!!
Post by nmf016 on Jul 23rd, 2006, 12:43pm
Thanks for not causing bodily harm.  Hopefully unnatural disasters in the presence of Goo will be limited to one a year.  :D  So until next year...

I'm sorry your seats weren't that great.  I don't know how the fanclub/ticketing/venue people sleep at night screwing with members.  I hope getting to hear the soundcheck made up for it a little for you.

I trust you more than most newspaper reviewers, so you've made me slightly more excited for tomorrow's show.  Thanks for the review!

Title: Re: My Detroit review!!!
Post by Shannon on Jul 23rd, 2006, 12:47pm

on 07/23/06 at 12:43:54, nmf016 wrote:
Thanks for not causing bodily harm. Hopefully unnatural disasters in the presence of Goo will be limited to one a year. :D So until next year...

I'm sorry your seats weren't that great. I don't know how the fanclub/ticketing/venue people sleep at night screwing with members. I hope getting to hear the soundcheck made up for it a little for you.

I trust you more than most newspaper reviewers, so you've made me slightly more excited for tomorrow's show. Thanks for the review!

Have you seen the Buffalo reviews? I'm so mad I didn't decide to make the trek. Sounds like it was phenomenal last night. I think you're in for an awesome show in Toronto. I can't wait to hear what your experience was.



The World of Goo Boards » Powered by YaBB 1 Gold - SP 1.3.1!
YaBB 2000-2003. All Rights Reserved.