The World of Goo Boards (http://www.musicfanclubs.org/cgi-bin/ggd/YaBB.cgi)
Off Topic Board >> Archived Concert Review and Fan Pictures Forum >> Toe.Ron.Toe. (now with Pictures!)
(Message started by: nmf016 on Jul 24th, 2006, 11:41pm)

Title: Toe.Ron.Toe. (now with Pictures!)
Post by nmf016 on Jul 24th, 2006, 11:41pm
It's long. Make sure you're comfortable and have a snack.


Oooookay... so my sister and I went up to Toronto for the show tonight. She's pretty indifferent, she just went because I asked her to. It's about a 2 hour drive.

To start, crossing the border there were no issues. They didn't even ask for IDs. That's weird. usually when I cross borders, they're popping my trunk, asking me how I know the people I'm with, and generally scaring the hell out of me. Then, we got to Ontario Place without a single wrong turn. Weird.

At about 6:30 we headed into Molson Amphitheatre. I had bought tickets for Section 202, row D. In other words, it is the center section and one section back. Section 102 has no elevation, so I figured my seats would be decent, but not mindblowingly awesome. So we go down and we're eye level with the stage and about 50 feet away. We determined there was a single seat on each side of us.

So, The Working Title starts playing. I liked them. I thought they were pretty good and it takes BALLS to get up ad play to a crowd who doesn't give a damn about you. The lead singer was later seen roaming in the 100s in his sweaty shirt talking to security and pretty girls.

The amphitheatre filled up fast. If it wasn't sold out it was really really close. I couldn't see any empty sections and it was absolutely beautiful out, so I'm sure it was near capacity. Two guys one seat over from me were utterly fascinated by me. They heard us cheer for being from Buffalo (a dude on the stage asked who was from Buffalo) and asked me whether I attended the Darien Lake show, and I explained my sister's wedding conflict. They asked a couple other questions throughout the night. It was, well, weird.

So, here's where it gets really bizarre. Run Like Hell goes on and I'm getting ready to get on my feet and the Goos come out and nothing. The three rows in front of me don't move. To the right and left, no one moves. Behind me, in my section, no one gets up. Now I'm conflicted. I want to get up. But no one else is standing. I'm afraid if I stand up, I'll have a mass of angry people behind me yelling at me. So SWY is playing and I'm sitting there. I tell my sister I've never sat at a concert before and she is slightly confused as well. But I guess when in Rome...Finally during the start of Black Balloon (4th song, I know, cast your stones) these girls in the front row of the section in the corner stand up. I say "Fuck this, I'm standing" and get up. This caused the people behind me to stand and so on and most of the section behind me is on their feet. When Black Balloon ended and Smash started, everyone sits down again. I was up and staying up. I was waiting for someone behind me to make me sit, but I received no angry comments. At the beginning of Smash Robby actually said "And this is for all the people with their asses glued to the seats for some reason". Anyways, for the rest of the show, scattered people only got up when the big hits were played. As a result I, who was standing, pretty much had no one in front of me the whole show. The first 14 rows were dropped so that my feet were equal with their heads and the rows in front of me were sitting so from my waist up there was nothing in my way. To add to this, the single seat next to my sister never was filled. The seat next to me was occupied briefly during the Goos set and then she didn't return by the time we left, halfway through the CC set, so we had lots and lots of room. We were eye level with the stage so for about half of Tucked Away I swear Robby was singing directly to me, who was obviously singing along.

Now, I enjoyed the show. I'm not a fan of LLI, but all of the songs were heavier live. I only wish they had been recorded the way they're played live. The Goos sounded good and seemed to be in good spirits (except the one aforementioned Robby comment). They didn't talk too much except to say hi, introduce some songs, dedicate Better Days to the troops, and John made a comment about wanting to learn how to make ugly guitar solo faces (which he likened to looking like you're taking a crap. Yes, he did act it out). The setlist was the usual. I'll list it below.

But, while I enjoyed the show, I can't help but admit it was super distracting in the audience. I originally figured that I somehow ended up in the middle of the CC fanclubs seats and they were all just showing disinterest because it wasn't their band. However, when the Crows came on, same thing. No one stood. Occassionally someone would get up and take a picture and they would sit back down. So I have no idea who these people were. This is the center section eye level with the stage and about 10 rows of sitting people (except me :D ). I can't even imagine what the bands were thinking because this is what they were seeing staring straight out. Just weird.

The Counting Crows were cool. I enjoyed them more than I thought I would and I think would have enjoyed them more if I was familiar with their songs. They're very interactive and Adam seems like he's tearing out his soul when he's performing. I thought it was really intimate. I think the Goos are about playing loud music (which I love) but I kind of wish they were as open as Adam seems to be while performing. I loved their light show too. It fits the music very nicely. We left after about 50 minutes of the Crows to beat the traffic. We had a long drive and we're still recovering from wedding festivities.

In conclusion, good performance, but weird weird audience. I've seen the Goos play in 7 feet of snow, I've seen them play in a private small show, I'm seen them in the biggest rainstorm of my life and this will forever stand out as the weirdest concert I've ever seen. I don't think I'll be rushing out to see them again unless they're the sole headliners and even then, I'm weary of ever going to a show outside of Buffalo.

Setlist:
Stay With You
Slide
Feel the Silence
Black Balloon
Smash
Tucked Away
We'll Be Here
Iris
Listen
Broadway
January Friend
Better Days
Let Love In

Encore:
Become
GALB
Without You Here

The Goos played for exactly 68 minutes. The Counting Crows went onstage at 9:35, so if they played until 11, that would mean they had a 85 minutes, but I can't confirm that as I had to leave.

Title: Re: Toe.Ron.Toe.
Post by nmf016 on Jul 25th, 2006, 12:35am
Pictures!  My skills/camera clearly suck, but oh well.  Robin on It's All Goo posted some amazing pictures.  Any picture you see with a head is a rare occasion where someone decided to stand.  You can assume that was a hit song...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/Toronto%207-24-06/100B1830.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/Toronto%207-24-06/100_1916.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/Toronto%207-24-06/100_1915.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/Toronto%207-24-06/100_1911.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/Toronto%207-24-06/100_1910.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/Toronto%207-24-06/100_1909.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/Toronto%207-24-06/100_1908.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/Toronto%207-24-06/100_1907.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/Toronto%207-24-06/100_1906.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/Toronto%207-24-06/100_1904.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/Toronto%207-24-06/100_1903.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/Toronto%207-24-06/100_1902.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/Toronto%207-24-06/100_1871.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/Toronto%207-24-06/100_1842.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/Toronto%207-24-06/100_1783.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/Toronto%207-24-06/100_1782.jpg

Title: Re: Toe.Ron.Toe.
Post by Shannon on Jul 25th, 2006, 1:20am
Sitting through the whole show?? ... that's got to be the strangest thing I've ever heard. It must have been so weird for the bands too. It's the complete opposite of the Detroit show where everyone was on their feet the entire time.

I forgot to mention The Working Title in my review. I really liked them too.

I'm glad to hear you like LLI a bit more live. I had a feeling you would. They're always so great live.

I too am hoping the Goos are solo for the next leg of the tour. You can feel comfortable traveling to Detroit...according to John we're kindred cities....and we don't sit through shows. ;)

Title: Re: Toe.Ron.Toe.
Post by crazy4goo on Jul 25th, 2006, 9:45am
hey thanks for your review...I enjoyed it!  I felt like the crowd at Columbus was a bit "reserved" too...kind of a bummer huh?   A smaller venue, with them headlining makes for a better experience if you ask me...

I'm trying to figure out your subject title...Toe.Ron.Toe...please explain!  

Title: Re: Toe.Ron.Toe.
Post by collegegoofan on Jul 25th, 2006, 10:17am
I liked your review, very nice and I agree their new songs are great live, of course I like the songs the way they were recorded for the record but they are even better live with a little more rock in them.


The Albuquerque show everyone was standing so I could imagine that it would quite wierd to be at a goo concert and so many people sitting down.


Thanks for sharing your experience with us.


Shannon

Title: Re: Toe.Ron.Toe.
Post by nmf016 on Jul 25th, 2006, 12:46pm

on 07/25/06 at 01:20:30, Shannon wrote:
I too am hoping the Goos are solo for the next leg of the tour. You can feel comfortable traveling to Detroit...according to John we're kindred cities....and we don't sit through shows. ;)


Okay, if sister #2 decides to get married on the next Goo show, Detroit will be my alternative. :D


Quote:
I'm trying to figure out your subject title...Toe.Ron.Toe...please explain!


An incorrect pronunciation of Toronto? I guess it would really be Tore-on-toe. Of course, with my fabulous (awful) Buffalo accent, it probably comes out Ter-ON-to.

Title: Re: Toe.Ron.Toe. (now with Pictures!)
Post by Shannon on Jul 25th, 2006, 12:58pm
Your pictures do NOT suck. I thought they were good. How nice though to have an unobstructed view ... something I can only dream about  :D I guess if I want a clear view I should go to a Toronto show ... lol  The sad thing is if I was the only one standing I still wouldn't block anyone's view ... lol

Title: Re: Toe.Ron.Toe. (now with Pictures!)
Post by collegegoofan on Jul 25th, 2006, 1:38pm
your pictures are AWESOME!!! Thanks for sharing them with us.



Shannon

Title: Re: Toe.Ron.Toe.
Post by crazy4goo on Jul 25th, 2006, 3:59pm

on 07/25/06 at 12:46:14, nmf016 wrote:
An incorrect pronunciation of Toronto? I guess it would really be Tore-on-toe. Of course, with my fabulous (awful) Buffalo accent, it probably comes out Ter-ON-to.


LOL!  I see it clearly now!  haha...me being from Ohio and living in Mississippi for the last four very long years I can relate to the accent thing!  "yer not from around here are ya?"  Duh ::)

thanks for sharing your pics


Title: Re: Toe.Ron.Toe. (now with Pictures!)
Post by YoursGOOLY on Jul 25th, 2006, 5:17pm
Thanks for the great review AND photos! I hate when people sit down at concerts. Go home and watch TV after you give ME your closer seat! ;D

I was getting dirty looks at the Summerfest show. I think there were CC in front of me. (all 23 rows of them)  ::) *sigh*

Title: Re: Toe.Ron.Toe. (now with Pictures!)
Post by y2goo_4ever on Jul 25th, 2006, 6:50pm
That's amazing. I wanted to go to the Toronto show as well, but it would've been such a long drive to get there.

I saw them in Detroit over in the States instead.

Are you kidding me? As soon as the Goos came one EVERYONE stood up  and starting cheering really loud. Amazing concert. It was my second Goo concert.

I love your pictures. They are amazing and so clear. I was 50 rows back and majority of mine were blurry. I have a video I took of 'become'.

Thanx for the novel!  ;)

~Lauren

Title: Re: Toe.Ron.Toe.
Post by y2goo_4ever on Jul 25th, 2006, 6:53pm

on 07/25/06 at 09:45:44, crazy4goo wrote:
I'm trying to figure out your subject title...Toe.Ron.Toe...please explain!  


Some of us Canadians call Toronto: T.O or as my friend refer's to it as T Dot. lol!!

Title: Re: Toe.Ron.Toe. (now with Pictures!)
Post by nmf016 on Jul 25th, 2006, 10:18pm

on 07/25/06 at 18:50:55, y2goo_4ever wrote:
I love your pictures. They are amazing and so clear. I was 50 rows back and majority of mine were blurry. I have a video I took of 'become'.


You know, I had brought enough memory and batteries to record the whole show.  But then, I was all thrown off by the audience.  Then, when I finally got up, I was in SUCH clear view for the security guy standing nearby that he gave me 'the look' when I started recording and I knew I wasn't going to get away with it.

But thanks to everyone who confirmed my thoughts that this experience was not normal.  My 'oh no, the show is over and I don't know when I'll see the Goos again' feeling is kicking in and I'm sad that the show was kind of strange.  It's funny that I was sort of worried the show wasn't going to be great because of some reviews I've read about the Goos not being into it and it turned out that I should have been worried about the audience...

Title: Re: Toe.Ron.Toe. (now with Pictures!)
Post by Goochick on Jul 25th, 2006, 11:58pm
These posts made me laugh for so many different reasons.  I am showing my age here but long, long ago on a not so distant planet, NO ONE stood up at a concert.  :o  In fact, if you stood, security would come over and give you one warning to sit down.  The second time, you were escorted out.  From this, I learned to bop around in my seat just as well as I can standing up and the view is so much better. It took me a long time to get used to standing the entire time.  

So, I have gotten used to standing but a really big pet peeve of mine are the people who are standing and dancing (I use that term loosely) with their arms over their heads and all the while looking everywhere except towards the stage.  I am not all that tall and the extended arms are adding a minimum of two more feet to their height.  On top of which, they're hardly paying attention to the group.  Noooo, they are looking at their dancing feet, singing to their friends, calling their homebound friends and generally, trying to get noticed by others (chickas on their boyfriends' shoulders, my fav).  I say if you are not there to watch the group, stay home, put on the CD and dance until your heart is content.  I am there to see the musicians.  If they play an instrument or sing, that is a bonus.  LOL.  

Okay, off of the soapbox.  Thanks for sharing your pics.  See, that was one advantage to your show...great pics!!

Title: Re: Toe.Ron.Toe. (now with Pictures!)
Post by y2goo_4ever on Jul 26th, 2006, 8:27am

on 07/25/06 at 22:18:58, nmf016 wrote:
You know, I had brought enough memory and batteries to record the whole show. But then, I was all thrown off by the audience. Then, when I finally got up, I was in SUCH clear view for the security guy standing nearby that he gave me 'the look' when I started recording and I knew I wasn't going to get away with it.


Here is the video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0RiJbAAFgsI I uploaded it on Youtube a couple days ago... ;D.

Title: Re: Toe.Ron.Toe. (now with Pictures!)
Post by Goochick on Jul 26th, 2006, 8:55am
Lauren - does your clip have sound?  I can't get any sound.  What am I doing wrong??

Title: Re: Toe.Ron.Toe. (now with Pictures!)
Post by y2goo_4ever on Jul 26th, 2006, 8:58am

on 07/26/06 at 08:55:44, Goochick wrote:
Lauren - does your clip have sound? I can't get any sound. What am I doing wrong??



It should have sound. It plays for me. Is the volume on the video player on youtube all the way at maximum?
Maybe it's not on there. Try clicking on the speaker to see if that works.

Title: Re: Toe.Ron.Toe. (now with Pictures!)
Post by Shannon on Jul 26th, 2006, 11:09am
Your videos are great. I watched the clip of BB too. It's fun to relive the night for a couple minutes. It's funny though ... the video doesn't translate the energy and enthusiasm that was there that night ... at least in my section. It was so loud and everyone was screaming and singing along. Maybe that's good though ... at least for videoing.

Title: Re: Toe.Ron.Toe. (now with Pictures!)
Post by y2goo_4ever on Jul 26th, 2006, 1:17pm

on 07/26/06 at 11:09:28, Shannon wrote:
Your videos are great. I watched the clip of BB too. It's fun to relive the night for a couple minutes. It's funny though ... the video doesn't translate the energy and enthusiasm that was there that night ... at least in my section. It was so loud and everyone was screaming and singing along. Maybe that's good though ... at least for videoing.



I had my camera on ZOOM for the videos. Thank you so much, I wish I would've taken a few more. I had extra batteries with me!

You were in the middle section as well?

Title: Re: Toe.Ron.Toe. (now with Pictures!)
Post by Shannon on Jul 26th, 2006, 1:31pm
No...I was in the section just to the right of the middle. A couple seats in from the isle in row Q. We had a ton of Crows fans in our section but they were all totally into the Goos. But it doesn't surprise me ... Detroit has always been very Goo friendly.

Title: Re: Toe.Ron.Toe. (now with Pictures!)
Post by y2goo_4ever on Jul 26th, 2006, 1:39pm

on 07/26/06 at 13:31:32, Shannon wrote:
Detroit has always been very Goo friendly.


:DAnd this is why I'd rather see a concert there, in Detroit, rather in my own country of Canada....and it's also closer than T.O by a longshot...

Not dissing my country either, I love Canada.

Title: Re: Toe.Ron.Toe. (now with Pictures!)
Post by nmf016 on Jul 26th, 2006, 3:50pm

on 07/25/06 at 23:58:23, Goochick wrote:
These posts made me laugh for so many different reasons. I am showing my age here but long, long ago on a not so distant planet, NO ONE stood up at a concert. :o In fact, if you stood, security would come over and give you one warning to sit down. The second time, you were escorted out. From this, I learned to bop around in my seat just as well as I can standing up and the view is so much better. It took me a long time to get used to standing the entire time.

So, I have gotten used to standing but a really big pet peeve of mine are the people who are standing and dancing (I use that term loosely) with their arms over their heads and all the while looking everywhere except towards the stage. I am not all that tall and the extended arms are adding a minimum of two more feet to their height. On top of which, they're hardly paying attention to the group. Noooo, they are looking at their dancing feet, singing to their friends, calling their homebound friends and generally, trying to get noticed by others (chickas on their boyfriends' shoulders, my fav). I say if you are not there to watch the group, stay home, put on the CD and dance until your heart is content. I am there to see the musicians. If they play an instrument or sing, that is a bonus. LOL.

Okay, off of the soapbox. Thanks for sharing your pics. See, that was one advantage to your show...great pics!!


I think you make some interesting points about sitting.  I can see how everyone sitting would actually make it easier for everyone to see.  I also agree that people who just want to make a scene and get noticed should just stay home if they're not going to actually watch the band.  Don't even get me started on people who go to concerts drunk.

It's just that at this time, in 2006, standing has sort of become an action of respect and appreciation at concerts.  If you don't like what you're hearing, you sit.  Obviously, this feeling is understood by the Goos, who seemed a little put off by all the sitting people and went as far as to mention it.

Title: Re: Toe.Ron.Toe. (now with Pictures!)
Post by Goochick on Jul 26th, 2006, 10:43pm

on 07/26/06 at 15:50:56, nmf016 wrote:
It's just that at this time, in 2006, standing has sort of become an action of respect and appreciation at concerts. If you don't like what you're hearing, you sit. Obviously, this feeling is understood by the Goos, who seemed a little put off by all the sitting people and went as far as to mention it.



Is this why people stand throughout?  It's considered a sign of respect for the band?  Truthfully, I never gave that a thought.  I always thought it was disrespectful to other audience members especially those who can't stand for long periods of time.  As mentioned, like it or not, I have accepted it.  

Back in the day (LOL, are you now wondering just exactly how old I am), we showed our respect and appreciation with standing ovations scattered throughout and lighting our matches (notice I said matches, not BICS) at the end for an encore.  Encores were not always a given as they are now.  There were times you would scream your head off for five minutes or longer trying to get the musicians to return to the stage. (Not to mention going through a pack of matches and burning your fingers off!).  Now, it's all of 30 seconds.  Oh well, enough of the history lesson and trip down memory lane.

Thanks for the insight!!  I shall pass this info on to the husband who has been as perplexed as I.  
:D



The World of Goo Boards » Powered by YaBB 1 Gold - SP 1.3.1!
YaBB 2000-2003. All Rights Reserved.