The World of Goo Boards (http://www.musicfanclubs.org/cgi-bin/ggd/YaBB.cgi)
Off Topic Board >> Archived Concert Review and Fan Pictures Forum >> CAMBRIDGE
(Message started by: tkc1989 on Oct 7th, 2006, 3:31am)

Title: CAMBRIDGE
Post by tkc1989 on Oct 7th, 2006, 3:31am
OMG what an amazing night!!! Me and two friends left straight after college and got to the venue pretty early, and we were about 3rd or 4th in line. Met some really nice people in the queue, and met Lou n Nic!! They were really really nice ;D ;D Good fun.

The meet and greet was soooo quick is was unbelievable, apparently loads of winners just didn't know what they were meant to do because the email was too vague or something so loads of people were late for it, so by the time everyone was there the gig had nearly started lol So Mike the security guy made it really quick unfortunately, but the guys were really nice, and Robby made a joke about how they lined up beside me in the same order as my T-shirt lol I also met Korel! I walked backstage and there he was playing his sax, and he seemed really surprised when I ran up to him and asked to shake his hand lol he was really cool he was like 'Hey, how're ya doin' man' lol

So to the ACTUAL gig...it was AMAZING...my friends were front row centre on the rail, so I had to push passed loads of people as the crowd had already filled up lol I ended up right behind them but for one couple who were being annoying, although they were midgets anyways, so being 6ft helped and I didn't mind too much hehe

They came on with SO much energy, during Stay With You John was playing the instrumental part way on the right of the stage and his face was priceless when he realised he was meant to start singing and had to sprint to the mic lol His Dixie Chicks impersonation before Feel the Silence was really funny and his little Bush impressions!

At one point a girl near me was shouting out for John and he turned to her and said 'What? I'd love to talk but I'm a bit busy now'-pointing at his guitar lol He also forgot how to play the end of Name, so everything went quiet, then he goes, 'I'm gonna get this right' lol so he started to play and someone shouted out so John stopped again and said 'Hey don't f*** me up!' laughing lol it was so funny

And John JUMPED on my friend Georgie during Iris, she was so shocked lol he was like leaning right over her! lol Both the friends I went with were SO impressed so I'm pleased ;D Sorry if this was a bit long-winded! lol, pictures to come hopefully!

I look awful in the photo! lol
http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a313/tkc1989/timnggds.jpg

Title: Re: CAMBRIDGE
Post by tkc1989 on Oct 7th, 2006, 7:08am
Here are a few photos...
http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a313/tkc1989/STA71096.jpg
http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a313/tkc1989/STA71107.jpg
http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a313/tkc1989/STA71105.jpg

Title: Re: CAMBRIDGE
Post by Shannon on Oct 7th, 2006, 8:33am
Great review Tim. I'm so happy to hear your m&g went so well. It's so exciting meeting the guys for the first time. Sounds like a really great show and you got to meet Lou & Nic....awesome! I'm glad your friends had a blast too.

I think your m&g photo is fabulous!!! I'm not sure why but John looks like a bad ass in your pic....in a good way ;) Must be the look on his face or his posture...something....sexy. Your photos from the show are terrific too. Thanks for sharing.

Title: Re: CAMBRIDGE
Post by the red o on Oct 7th, 2006, 10:29am
Yeah, your meet and great picture is one of the best ones I've seen.  All of the guys have their eyes open and look like themselves.  And if you look 'awful' in that picture, I'm gonna need to see some good pictures.   :D

Glad you had a good time! Thanks for sharing.  Your pictures are great!

Title: Re: CAMBRIDGE
Post by carlyn on Oct 7th, 2006, 12:24pm
Thanbks fro the awesome review!  That is so cool that you got a Meet and Greet!

Title: Re: CAMBRIDGE
Post by collegegoofan on Oct 7th, 2006, 1:02pm
GREAT review and very nice M&G pic....thanks for sharing your experience with us.  


Shannon

Title: Re: CAMBRIDGE
Post by goober_1013 on Oct 7th, 2006, 2:23pm
gorgeous pics!  so glad to hear you had a wonderful time. . .it sounds like they're putting on some great shows. . . ;D

Title: Re: CAMBRIDGE
Post by collegegoofan on Oct 7th, 2006, 7:55pm
http://www.enigmamusic.com/forum/images/smilies/wow.gif


Your pics are GREAT!!!!

Sorry I forgot to say that in my previous post.  Thanks for sharing them with us.


http://www.enigmamusic.com/forum/images/smilies/2_thumbs_up_-_animated.gif
Shannon


Title: Re: CAMBRIDGE
Post by Johns_chick on Oct 7th, 2006, 10:25pm
WOW Tim that is just absolutely AMAZING!! Your pictures are fantastic especially the Meet and greet one. Thanks a bunch for sharing and so glad you got to meet them.

Hugs
Kayla~

Title: Re: CAMBRIDGE
Post by LouAndNic on Oct 8th, 2006, 9:21am
Hey Tim!!  ;D

It was really lovely to meet you and your friends the other day... always good to put a face to a name and especially when they turn out so nice  ;D

Thanks for sharing your experience, gig piccies and of course your gorgeous meet and greet picture.  So glad you got to meet them and say hi to Korel too.

We had a really great time in Cambridge although have never been so crushed in all our life as we were in Slide... we were a few seconds away from asking to be pulled out as we were squashed against the barrier with nowhere to go.  Thankfully it settled down again in the end!

Really enjoyed the band's energy again and of course all the funny stories!  Have to say it's not just american tourists nearly getting hit by bicycles as we had a few lucky escapes too! lol  

The band really do seem to be appreciating the reaction they're getting from the UK and it's so lovely to see - will bring piccies a.s.a.p

Title: Re: CAMBRIDGE
Post by tkc1989 on Oct 8th, 2006, 2:07pm
Hey Everyone :D thanks so much for your comments, I'm still not too fond of my MnG pic though lol- maybe in time...gonna frame it though along with a couple of the gig photos, my MnG band, a guitar pick I got, one of Robby's I think- it's green, I got a blue one too but I gave it away 'cause i saw this girl was really upset she didn't get one lol so I figured I only needed one anyways :D

And I can't wait to see your pics Lou n Nic ;D

Title: Re: CAMBRIDGE
Post by LouAndNic on Oct 10th, 2006, 7:46am

on 10/08/06 at 14:07:13, tkc1989 wrote:
Hey Everyone :D thanks so much for your comments, I'm still not too fond of my MnG pic though lol- maybe in time...gonna frame it though along with a couple of the gig photos, my MnG band, a guitar pick I got, one of Robby's I think- it's green, I got a blue one too but I gave it away 'cause i saw this girl was really upset she didn't get one lol so I figured I only needed one anyways :D

And I can't wait to see your pics Lou n Nic ;D


Aww that was really kind of you Tim to give away your pick!

Haven't forgotten about the photos but neither of us are feeling too good at the moment so may take a few days.  Bear with us!

Title: Re: CAMBRIDGE
Post by The Purple O on Oct 10th, 2006, 6:09pm
Those are super photos! It sounds like you had a wonderful time!



The World of Goo Boards » Powered by YaBB 1 Gold - SP 1.3.1!
YaBB 2000-2003. All Rights Reserved.