The World of Goo Boards (http://www.musicfanclubs.org/cgi-bin/ggd/YaBB.cgi)
Off Topic Board >> Archived Concert Review and Fan Pictures Forum >> London, Ontario review!
(Message started by: Shannon on Nov 16th, 2006, 12:20am)

Title: London, Ontario review!
Post by Shannon on Nov 16th, 2006, 12:20am
I just got home from the London show. What a night!!! Once Terri and I got there we met up with Nicole and eventually Lauren and her friend. It was so fun hanging out with you all. We also met Denise and her sister Lori. It was great meeting you both and hanging with you as well.

We managed to get dead center at the rail...just a hair to the left of John. Did I mention what a night? I've never been that close at a Goo show. It was AMAZING!!! I'm keeping this brief for now because I'm tired. I thought they were great tonight....very energized. They all looked like they were having a blast. John was witty and fun. He was chatty but it wasn't any of the usual stuff I've read about....I'm too tired to remember specifics right now. He did have an issue with his fly being open and Damage had to tell him. It was funny how he handled it. And, the rest of the night he kept checking to make sure he was zipped. After the show ended one of the crew guys gave me one of John's pics. I've never gotten a pic before so I was pretty happy about that too.

Nicole wrote down the setlist so I'll let her post it.

The opening act Tomi Swick...not sure if I spelled that right ???..... he was great. I thoroughly enjoyed his set. Usually during an opening act I'm thinking get on with the main show but I really enjoyed him.

I took tons of pictures and because I was so close they look like they're going to be pretty great. I'll try to post some of them tomorrow afternoon when I have time.

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by the red o on Nov 16th, 2006, 12:31am
Wow, not only did you beat me home, you wrote a review...  Geesh.  :D

So yeah.  Front row center.  Now I never have to do GA again.  Ever.  :D

My scribbled setlist:
Stay With You
Slide
Feel the Silence
Black Balloon
Smash
Tucked Away
Naked (!!! !!! !!!)
Name (!!! !!! !!!)
We'll Be Here (When You're Gone)
Iris
Broadway
Without You Here
January Friend
Better Days
Become
GALB.

We put other crowds to shame with our black balloons.  To shame!  A+ to the person passing them out.  I assisted at least 2 to the stage.  :D  

And my polish sausage/John deepthroating the mic picture didn't come out.  I fully expect to see one posted when I wake up tomorrow.  Apparently so does John...

Pictures, stories, etc coming soon...

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by LouAndNic on Nov 16th, 2006, 5:50am
Wow, it sounds like you had a fabulous time - so pleased for you  :nanner: :nanner:

Thanks to both of you for posting a review so quickly.

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by The Purple O on Nov 16th, 2006, 5:50am
Wow! Sounds like a great time! What is the secret for getting the rail at a GA show? How early do you have to get there?

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by fan.googoodolls on Nov 16th, 2006, 7:38am
Wow ... glad you all had a great time at the show!! ;D ;D
Tomi Swick is amazing!!  Glad you enjoyed the opening act Shannon.  

I'm so psyched for my show tomorrow night.
I think I'm going to go crazy just waiting.

Looking forward to more pics, stories, etc.

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by Shannon on Nov 16th, 2006, 11:32am

on 11/16/06 at 05:50:36, The Purple O wrote:
Wow! Sounds like a great time! What is the secret for getting the rail at a GA show? How early do you have to get there?

We arrived at the venue about 2 hours before the show. It was chilly but manageable. It was strange because every GA show I've ever been to the lines are wrapped around the building. But this show there were maybe 20-50 waiting when the doors opened. We were one of the first ones in the building and pretty much had our pick of where to stand at the rail. Nicole got there first and saved me a spot. Thanks again Nicole....that was the BEST spot!! People just sort of trickled in all evening and by the time the show started the floor was pretty full.

I'm am just exhausted today. I feel like I'm in a fog and just can't wake up. I'll get to my pictures later today. I can't wait to share them.

Nicole....I didn't get a picture of John deep throating the microphone. That was right when my camera was acting crazy. I accidently pushed the button that had it on a 10 second shutter delay. It took me a minute to figure out where the button was that I pushed but I figured it out. Needless to say I did miss that awesome photographic moment :(

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by the red o on Nov 16th, 2006, 1:26pm

on 11/16/06 at 11:32:21, Shannon wrote:
We arrived at the venue about 2 hours before the show. It was chilly but manageable. It was strange because every GA show I've ever been to the lines are wrapped around the building. But this show there were maybe 20-50 waiting when the doors opened. We were one of the first ones in the building and pretty much had our pick of where to stand at the rail. Nicole got there first and saved me a spot. Thanks again Nicole....that was the BEST spot!! People just sort of trickled in all evening and by the time the show started the floor was pretty full.

I'm am just exhausted today. I feel like I'm in a fog and just can't wake up. I'll get to my pictures later today. I can't wait to share them.

Nicole....I didn't get a picture of John deep throating the microphone. That was right when my camera was acting crazy. I accidently pushed the button that had it on a 10 second shutter delay. It took me a minute to figure out where the button was that I pushed but I figured it out. Needless to say I did miss that awesome photographic moment :(


GA was weird.  Granted, it was weird in a way that worked really well for us...  the venue was pretty empty until right before the Goos came on.  I'm sure the rain and Wednesday night date helped with that.

We also got lucky with the wristband lines.  There were two that had 5-7 people in them and one with only 1 person.  So I jumped out of a long line and pretty much got in before a lot of people ahead of me.  I was panicking when I had a beautiful spot on the rail and couldn't find either person who was supposed to be there with me!

I'm exhausted too.  I got up at 11, thinking "oh, if I'm late for my 12:30 class, whatever".  Then I realized there was a quiz and I don't have clean ironed pants for work tonight and I had to take a shower... I've been running around like crazy and I want to sleep.  :D

I know you didn't get a mic picture.  Mine sucks.  But he posed SO long like that that one is bound to pop up.  And it will be my sig picture forever, because it was really funny.  He asked for it...

I took like 450000 pictures.  I'll post some right after I upload.  Not awesome, because I suck, but definitely the best I've ever gotten at a concert.

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by Shannon on Nov 16th, 2006, 1:32pm
I'm uploading my pics right now.....stay tuned.

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by the red o on Nov 16th, 2006, 2:05pm
Here ya go... Lots of John because, well, he was right there.  I feel like some of the pictures are invading his personal space.  Very little success with Robby because he moves too much!  And Mike a waaaaay back there and John was in the way (aww.  darn.)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/London%2011-15-06/100B2900.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/London%2011-15-06/100B2860.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/London%2011-15-06/100B2790.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/London%2011-15-06/100B2590.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/London%2011-15-06/100B2510.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/London%2011-15-06/100B2490.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/London%2011-15-06/100B2450.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/London%2011-15-06/100B2320.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/London%2011-15-06/100B2290.jpg

Post mostly because his face is so weird.  It's like he was puffing up his cheeks for no apparent reason.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/London%2011-15-06/100B2240.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/London%2011-15-06/100B2191.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/London%2011-15-06/100_2156.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/London%2011-15-06/100_2149.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/London%2011-15-06/100_2145.jpg

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by the red o on Nov 16th, 2006, 2:08pm
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/London%2011-15-06/100_2121.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/London%2011-15-06/100_2107.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/London%2011-15-06/100_2105.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/London%2011-15-06/100_2095.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/London%2011-15-06/100_2071.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v337/crookedrhyme/goo/London%2011-15-06/100_2068.jpg

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by the red o on Nov 16th, 2006, 2:41pm
I have 45 minutes of battery left. Can I write a review?


I got to London with only tiny disasters. I took a little ten mile detour accidentally and pissed off some Canadians with my lost driving in downtown London. Fortunately, NYS license plates generally mean no one gives you too much crap since everyone thinks New Yorkers carry guns at all times...

It was reasonable weather for the middle of November. Chilly enough for gloves, but I only wore a sweatshirt and was outside for about 3 hours. There was a little rain but we had a nice covering. The wait wasn't painful at all.

Met up with Shannon and Terri, and then later Lauren and Tara came. And we made friends with the women behind us, so it was a nice little group and time passed pretty quickly. Unfortunately, no superpowers wer activated when the red o, yellow o, white o, and teal o all met up. Apparently there has to be at least 5 o's for the powers to activate... :D

Went inside as described. I got lucky and passed a bunch of the people in front of us so we got a beautiful spot on the rail in the center, just left of John. It was amusing when Shannon and I wondered why the microphone was so far away and then one of the crew guys went and plopped a microphone right in front of us! The crowd was pretty polite as far as there wasn't too much pushing or fighting. I had more strangers touching my ass though... I hope the screamers behind me who screamed ALL NIGHT have very sore throats today.

Anyways... show... Tomi Swick opened and I loved his set. He was adorable in a pale Irish sort of way. :D And if you're seeing him soon, watch the keyboardist. He's really cute when he plays. I knew a bunch of Tomi Swick's songs, but he's sort of like the Goos in so much as his live show is heavier than the recorded versions. Definitely a good opener for the Goos.

Goos... Great as usual. I know I've been pretty loud mouthed about hating the new album and hating the setlist and generally spewing forth hatred about everything, but I don't deny they're really great live. I'm not sure I like the new Naked intro, but they played Naked, so I don't really care that much about the intro! I was also happy to hear Name, as they didn't play it at the show I attended this summer.

The banter... A+. I expected the usual 'marry a Canadian, Bush is a whacko' talk, but we got none of that. Instead John took a sign from the audience that had "I "heart" polish sausage" on one side and some abstract drawing on the other. He remarked on the mental state of the artist and then made comments about how there'd be 1000 pictures on the internet the next day of him holding the polish sausage sign. And then he decided to make it worse for himself by displaying the sign and posing very suggestively with a microphone, as you know, figure it out for yourselves. He posed for a good 5 seconds, so that picture is out there and I want it! :D After switching guitars 3 or 4 songs in, John announced Damage had informed him his fly had been down. He said it would be reflected in Damage's paycheck. He got paranoid and checked his zipper throughout the night. (I swear that his fly was down at another show I went to. This seems to be an ongoing problem :D ) Robby talked about how the last time they were in London it was his birthday and John let him play his guitar. He apparently didn't do a very good job... John also made comments about how cliche the "how is everyone tonight?" line is, even though he uses it every night, and how no one ever really answers "Today fucking sucked".

The setlist is as posted above, the usual.  John accidentally said that the next song they were going to play was Let Love In when they were actually about to play Feel the Silence.  It was funny when the rest of the band was kind of like "uh... what are you talking about?" and John laughed and corrected himself.

It was a fun show, I got my front row spot so I never have to again, and of course I loved meeting (or re-meeting) the WOG people there!

Left the venue and it was raining. Managed to get back on the main highway via a road I swear didn't exist earlier that day. No major disasters on the way home. Just yucky rain and I accidentally flung half a cracker somewhere in my backseat. I should probably go find it...

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by Shannon on Nov 16th, 2006, 3:16pm
HOLY COW  :o Your pics are amazing. It's funny how we were standing next to each other and our pics are very different.

I just finished resizing and watermarking mine. Hopefully they'll be up soon.

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by fan.googoodolls on Nov 16th, 2006, 3:28pm
Awesome review!! :)

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by the white o on Nov 16th, 2006, 3:33pm
I'm home!!!

Man was it rainy today, my hair is a mess.

Amazing spots you guys had! Thanks for waving! We were looking for you too, squinting.

Amazing pictures Nicole.  It was so nice to finally meet you guys.

Our seats in 208 were more than amazing. I had such a great view, I haven't uploaded my pictures yet, alas I didn't get a picture of the Polish Sausage  Sign either. :'(

FIRST TIME AT A GOO CONCERT WHERE HE PLAYED NAKED!!!! I WAS SCREAMING LOUD. I hardly had a voice this morning.

Tara and I were watching you guys leave the theatre and tried waving and calling your names!! But you couldn't hear us!

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by The Purple O on Nov 16th, 2006, 4:52pm
Wow great reviews!

My concert is the day after thanksgiving, the venue is only about 1/2 and hours drive, the show starts at 7:30 so I'm planning on leaving around 4:30ish.
Is the same band opening for all their shows this month?

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by ashleylovesgoo on Nov 16th, 2006, 5:21pm
Shannon!!! I was 2nd row right infront of John's mic!!! We probably saw eachother and didn't even know it! LOL

Amazing pictures you got.. I have pretty much the same kind.. very invading personal space!!! hahaha, but hey! he was RIGHT THERE.. how could I not take 144 pictures?! ..yes, 144!! LOL plus video!!!!

OH! and I DO have Polish Sausage pictures!!! I'll post them ASAP!!!

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by ashleylovesgoo on Nov 16th, 2006, 5:27pm
ENJOY!
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y195/ashleydawn28/GOO%20GOO%20DOLLS%20LIVE/IMG_3425.jpg[img][/img]

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by Shannon on Nov 16th, 2006, 5:27pm

on 11/16/06 at 17:21:53, ashleylovesgoo wrote:
Shannon!!! I was 2nd row right infront of John's mic!!! We probably saw eachother and didn't even know it! LOL

Amazing pictures you got.. I have pretty much the same kind.. very invading personal space!!! hahaha, but hey! he was RIGHT THERE.. how could I not take 144 pictures?! ..yes, 144!! LOL plus video!!!!

OH! and I DO have Polish Sausage pictures!!! I'll post them ASAP!!!

I was the very short person with brown curly hair wearing the brown hoodie sweater. You were probably right behind me.

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by the white o on Nov 16th, 2006, 5:29pm

on 11/16/06 at 17:27:06, ashleylovesgoo wrote:
ENJOY!
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y195/ashleydawn28/GOO%20GOO%20DOLLS%20LIVE/IMG_3425.jpg[img][/img]



HOLYCRAPYOUGOTIT!

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by ashleylovesgoo on Nov 16th, 2006, 5:30pm
YEP I DID!!!! LOL

I was shaking soo much!! BUT I GOT IT!  ;D

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by Shannon on Nov 16th, 2006, 5:38pm
I'm so glad someone got that picture. I was so mad my camera picked that exact moment to act up.

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by the white o on Nov 16th, 2006, 6:10pm
Here, I recorded this.

I just got a clip of it, I was kinda shakey, you can probably hear me singing and saying something.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vFhQf7EFnTI

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by Shannon on Nov 16th, 2006, 6:16pm
This is GREAT Lauren. You can see security Mike's head in the video. I'm standing right it front of him! Ahhhh....what a night. Thanks for sharing this.

You did look like you had a fantastic view from your seats. I'm so glad for you both.

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by the white o on Nov 16th, 2006, 6:22pm

on 11/16/06 at 18:16:31, Shannon wrote:
This is GREAT Lauren. You can see security Mike's head in the video. I'm standing right it front of him! Ahhhh....what a night. Thanks for sharing this.

You did look like you had a fantastic view from your seats. I'm so glad for you both.



Thanks Shannon, it was amazing!!!!! Tara got a couple clips so I am hoping she will post.

Here are some of my pictures, mind you I was in Zoom the whole time, and I Had to shut my camera off because it was heating up!!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v148/y2goo_4ever/100_5706wm.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v148/y2goo_4ever/100_5796wm.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v148/y2goo_4ever/100_5824wm.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v148/y2goo_4ever/100_5822wm.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v148/y2goo_4ever/100_5825wm.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v148/y2goo_4ever/100_5826wm.jpg

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by Shannon on Nov 16th, 2006, 6:25pm
Those are EXCELLENT! I can't believe how good they are considering how far back you were....fantastic. How much did you have to zoom because it looks like you're right there?

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by The Purple O on Nov 16th, 2006, 6:26pm
Your video isn't working for me, but the pictures are amazing!

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by the white o on Nov 16th, 2006, 6:28pm

on 11/16/06 at 18:25:54, Shannon wrote:
Those are EXCELLENT! I can't believe how good they are considering how far back you were....fantastic. How much did you have to zoom because it looks like you're right there?


Thank you, I tried. I used my manual camera settings. I didn't use a flash and I steadied myself in my seat.
I have a Kodak Z740, and it has 10X Optical Zoom and 5X Digital Zoom.

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by the white o on Nov 16th, 2006, 6:29pm
Here is the video for GALB

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kavgTdr5qu4

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by The Purple O on Nov 16th, 2006, 6:30pm
Ohh good, your video is working for me now.

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by the white o on Nov 16th, 2006, 6:35pm

on 11/16/06 at 18:30:23, The Purple O wrote:
Ohh good, your video is working for me now.



I just uploaded them, so it might take a few minutes.

I hope you like them.

I apoligize profusely for being so shakey...LOL you could probably hear me singing at one point.

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by Shannon on Nov 16th, 2006, 6:43pm

on 11/16/06 at 18:29:30, the white o wrote:
Here is the video for GALB

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kavgTdr5qu4

Good stuff.......ahhh the memories.

They need to come on over to Detroit now. I need another show!

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by sympathy_0 on Nov 16th, 2006, 6:45pm
Haha i couldnt hear you at all!

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by the white o on Nov 16th, 2006, 7:14pm

on 11/16/06 at 18:45:27, sympathy_0 wrote:
Haha i couldnt hear you at all!


*phew* That's good.
The sound was really good, really clear.

:D

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by the red o on Nov 16th, 2006, 9:29pm

on 11/16/06 at 17:27:06, ashleylovesgoo wrote:
ENJOY!
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y195/ashleydawn28/GOO%20GOO%20DOLLS%20LIVE/IMG_3425.jpg[img][/img]



Hahahahahahahahahaha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yay!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Now we just need some from the other angles.

I totally saved that one to my collection.

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by the white o on Nov 16th, 2006, 10:05pm

on 11/16/06 at 21:29:36, the red o wrote:
Hahahahahahahahahaha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yay!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Now we just need some from the other angles.

I totally saved that one to my collection.



That is amazing! Absolutely amazing.

Nicole!! It was so good to finally meet you and put a  face to an o...or a face :D

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by the red o on Nov 16th, 2006, 10:17pm

on 11/16/06 at 22:05:48, the white o wrote:
That is amazing! Absolutely amazing.

Nicole!! It was so good to finally meet you and put a face to an o...or a face :D


Good to meet you too!  It was nice to pass the time outside talking and it was fun to wave at you like a crazy person inside the venue!  :D

You got some great pictures with your zoom.  I love the one of Robby scrunching his nose.  :D

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by the white o on Nov 16th, 2006, 10:30pm

on 11/16/06 at 22:17:11, the red o wrote:
Good to meet you too! It was nice to pass the time outside talking and it was fun to wave at you like a crazy person inside the venue! :D

You got some great pictures with your zoom. I love the one of Robby scrunching his nose. :D


Why thank you vury much. HAHA.

:D! Thank you! AHH! It was cute, I just kept focusing and clicking.

Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by the orange o on Nov 25th, 2006, 4:28pm

on 11/16/06 at 14:41:38, the red o wrote:
I have 45 minutes of battery left. Can I write a review?

It was a fun show, I got my front row spot so I never have to again, and of course I loved meeting (or re-meeting) the WOG people there!

...


Nicole,
I'm so glad you had great seats and an awesome time. I know it's been a tough GOO year for you...


Title: Re: London, Ontario review!
Post by the red o on Nov 25th, 2006, 10:14pm
Awww, thanks!  2006 is almost over!



The World of Goo Boards » Powered by YaBB 1 Gold - SP 1.3.1!
YaBB 2000-2003. All Rights Reserved.