The World of Goo Boards (http://www.musicfanclubs.org/cgi-bin/ggd/YaBB.cgi)
Off Topic Board >> Archived Concert Review and Fan Pictures Forum >> Portland Goo Goo Dolls Concert!
(Message started by: The Purple O on Nov 24th, 2006, 10:24pm)

Title: Portland Goo Goo Dolls Concert!
Post by The Purple O on Nov 24th, 2006, 10:24pm
First off, I was on the rail!!!!

The concert was awesome! It was held in a giant dome (cover all arena) This was the first concert in this arena. It was all standing room, general admission.
We arrived at 4:45 and there was a little bit of a line. We waited outside until 6 pm. We were able to find a decent spot off to the side of the stage behind a few people who were at the rail. 7:30 the band Over It played for about 45 minutes. They were good. Their music was so loud you could barely hear the singer, so I can't really comment on their singing abilities. This was their second concert with GGD. During the intermission there were a group of girls behind me trying to push their way to the front. I wasn't about to let them push through me, but I took this opportunity to move to the open spot closer to the rail that they wanted. There were a few people in front of me, but someone offered me a spot on the rail. It was off the the right side of the stage, both John and Robby came right in front of me periodically. I felt bad for my friend who was trapped in the crowd. I have never been this close at a concert, it made the whole experience 100 times better. They were a few feet in front of me, and I could see the entire stage.
At 8:45 the Goo Goo Dolls took the stage. Their set list went something like this:
(the order isn't completely accurate)
Stay With You
Slide
Name
Black Balloon
Without You Here
We'll Be Here (When Your Gone)
Smash
Tucked Away
Naked
Better Days
January Friend
Iris
Sympathy
Let Love In
Broadway
Feel the Silence
Encore:
Become
Give a Little Bit

Both John and Robby were amazing live. John talked about spending Thanksgiving in Staten Island NY with his girlfriend, and everyone spoke Spanish.
When John played Sympathy, he made a big deal about remembering the lines. He said Robby was taking bets on whether or not he would remember the lyrics. When John successfully sang the song, Robby came out and gave him a hug and a kiss. (I unfortunately don't have any pictures)
John threw lots of guitar picks into the audience, but I didn't catch any.
The concert was superb and my ears are still ringing, I tried not to scream too much so I would still have a voice tomorrow.

I will post pictures asap. Out of the 72 pictures I took about 65 of them are crap.  :(

Title: Re: Portland Goo Goo Dolls Concert!
Post by The Purple O on Nov 24th, 2006, 10:44pm
Note: None of these pictures are to be used for any purposes without written permission from me, Nicole.
Singer from Over It
http://i10.tinypic.com/3z0ql1d.jpg

http://i7.tinypic.com/30bftxl.jpg
http://i7.tinypic.com/2mh61dk.jpg
http://i15.tinypic.com/2nk6jo2.jpg
http://i10.tinypic.com/2a0aozk.jpg
http://i9.tinypic.com/2d11ezn.jpg
http://i10.tinypic.com/3y50bkk.jpg
http://i7.tinypic.com/4hu35p2.jpg
http://i10.tinypic.com/4i2y268.jpg
http://i7.tinypic.com/33dv2ja.jpg
http://i9.tinypic.com/2dkh6k8.jpg
http://i9.tinypic.com/4fypc1t.jpg
http://i7.tinypic.com/2qs44te.jpg

and two freaky pictures.
http://i9.tinypic.com/2vtywjo.jpg
Translucent John!
http://i15.tinypic.com/43wwdq1.jpg

Title: Re: Portland Goo Goo Dolls Concert!
Post by the red o on Nov 24th, 2006, 11:07pm
Yay for you!  Glad you were on the rail and very glad you had a good time!  Thanks for sharing so quickly.

Are you sure 'the song you've never heard' wasn't just Without You Here?  Sometimes things just sound different live.  I noticed it missing from your list and can't imagine they would pull out some unexpected song (I wish, but it ain't happening)

Love the pictures.  Looks like John has a new shirt.  And the bottom two are rather freaky!  :D

Title: Re: Portland Goo Goo Dolls Concert!
Post by Skkyer on Nov 25th, 2006, 7:12am
Thank you for the write up and pictures!  YAHOO!!  You got the rail.  I'm happy for you.  

Hugs,
Skkyer

Title: Re: Portland Goo Goo Dolls Concert!
Post by The Purple O on Nov 25th, 2006, 8:06am
They did play Without You Here, I forgot to add it to the list.

John sang the song and there wasn't a lot of singing. There was a long introduction with guitar and drums. I should have recorded it.

Title: Re: Portland Goo Goo Dolls Concert!
Post by the red o on Nov 25th, 2006, 10:39am

on 11/25/06 at 08:06:29, The Purple O wrote:
They did play Without You Here, I forgot to add it to the list.

John sang the song and there wasn't a lot of singing. There was a long introduction with guitar and drums. I should have recorded it.


The intro to Naked is a weird little song.  I didn't recognize what it was leading up to when it was being played.  It sort of sounds like it could be part of the LLI album, but then it leads into Naked.  Was it played right after Smash and Tucked Away by chance?

Title: Re: Portland Goo Goo Dolls Concert!
Post by The Purple O on Nov 25th, 2006, 10:52am
I think it was Naked, it was played right after Tucked Away. I don't really know that song very well.
Thanks

Title: Re: Portland Goo Goo Dolls Concert!
Post by the white o on Nov 25th, 2006, 12:19pm

on 11/24/06 at 22:24:52, The Purple O wrote:
First off, I was on the rail!!!!

The concert was awesome! It was held in a giant dome (cover all arena) This was the first concert in this arena. It was all standing room, general admission.
We arrived at 4:45 and there was a little bit of a line. We waited outside until 6 pm. We were able to find a decent spot off to the side of the stage behind a few people who were at the rail. 7:30 the band Over It played for about 45 minutes. They were good. Their music was so loud you could barely hear the singer, so I can't really comment on their singing abilities. This was their second concert with GGD. During the intermission there were a group of girls behind me trying to push their way to the front. I wasn't about to let them push through me, but I took this opportunity to move to the open spot closer to the rail that they wanted. There were a few people in front of me, but someone offered me a spot on the rail. It was off the the right side of the stage, both John and Robby came right in front of me periodically. I felt bad for my friend who was trapped in the crowd. I have never been this close on a concert, it made the whole experience 100 times better. They were a few feet in front of me, and I could see the entire stage.
At 8:45 the Goo Goo Dolls took the stage. Their set list went something like this:
(the order isn't completely accurate)
Stay With You
Slide
Name
Black Balloon
Without You Here
We'll Be Here (When Your Gone)
Smash
Tucked Away
Naked
Better Days
January Friend
Iris
Sympathy
Let Love In
Broadway
Feel the Silence
Encore:
Become
Give a Little Bit

Both John and Robby were amazing live. John talked about spending Thanksgiving in Staten Island NY with his girlfriend, and everyone spoke Spanish.
When John played Sympathy, he made a big deal about remembering the lines. He said Robby was taking bets on whether or not he would remember the lyrics. When John successfully sang the song, Robby came out and gave him a hug and a kiss. (I unfortunately don't have any pictures)
John threw lots of guitar picks into the audience, but I didn't catch any.
The concert was superb and my ears are still ringing, I tried not to scream too much so I would still have a voice tomorrow.

I will post pictures asap. Out of the 72 pictures I took about 65 of them are crap.  :(



What a great review Nicole!! That is amazing you got rail!!

My friend Seth who is from somewhere in Maine went too! He actually caught a guitar pick. It was Green though.
You're pictures are amazing!

Title: Re: Portland Goo Goo Dolls Concert!
Post by Shannon on Nov 25th, 2006, 12:36pm
Thanks for posting your review and pictures. I'm so happy you got to the rail. Us WOGers have been having some awesome rail luck lately. There's just nothing like it.

Title: Re: Portland Goo Goo Dolls Concert!
Post by The Purple O on Nov 25th, 2006, 6:45pm
http://i15.tinypic.com/2vjpgxz.jpg
The quality was a lot better before I converted it to jpg

Title: Re: Portland Goo Goo Dolls Concert!
Post by Hysteria on Nov 26th, 2006, 4:51am
Pics are amazing! Sounds like you had a good time! Got to the rail too, we did at the Manchester gig back in September, so I can totally imagine how amazing it was!
Thanks for posting the review! ;D

Title: Re: Portland Goo Goo Dolls Concert!
Post by The Purple O on Nov 26th, 2006, 9:23am
I forgot to mention, before John played Name he told the story how his guitar tech told him his zipper was down. "Then I suddenly realized I was full of shit. The world has a funny way of doing that to you, like one second your like yea! then all of a sudden the sidewalk rams into you. It ain't cool trying to be cool."

Title: Re: Portland Goo Goo Dolls Concert!
Post by Shannon on Nov 26th, 2006, 7:19pm

on 11/26/06 at 09:23:09, The Purple O wrote:
I forgot to mention, before John played Name he told the story how his guitar tech told him his zipper was down. "Then I suddenly realized I was full of shit. The world has a funny way of doing that to you, like one second your like yea! then all of a sudden the sidewalk rams into you. It ain't cool trying to be cool."

HA! It's funny he said that at your show. When that happened at the London show he was so embarassed and checked his zipper the rest of the night. You could tell he was genuinely embarassed by it.

Title: Re: Portland Goo Goo Dolls Concert!
Post by The Purple O on Nov 27th, 2006, 4:51pm
Here is the correct set list!
Stay With You
Slide
Black Balloon
Broadway
Smash
Tucked Away
Naked
Name
Iris
Sympathy
Better Days
Let Love In
Feel the Silence
We'll Be Here (When Your Gone)
January Friend
Become
Give a Little Bit

They didn't play Without You Here



The World of Goo Boards » Powered by YaBB 1 Gold - SP 1.3.1!
YaBB 2000-2003. All Rights Reserved.