The World of Goo Boards (http://www.musicfanclubs.org/cgi-bin/ggd/YaBB.cgi)
Off Topic Board >> Archived Concert Review and Fan Pictures Forum >> M&G, show and pics
(Message started by: ShanGooFan on Jul 10th, 2005, 10:29pm)

Title: M&G, show and pics
Post by ShanGooFan on Jul 10th, 2005, 10:29pm
Just got back from the big show today. It was exhausting sitting out in the heat all day. But it was Goo so it was worth it.

My friend and I arrived around noon to pick up our VIP pass to the Ford tent and meet the guy who would take us for the meet and greet. We decided to just stay up at the Ford tent since there was free food, drinks and bathrooms. These bathrooms ... port a potty's ... had hardwood floors and smelled like Cinnamon. It was by far the nicest port-a-john I've ever been in.

After waiting all day the big M&G moment finally arrived. I was really nervous but once we got into the room above the clubhouse I just relaxed and was fine. There were only 10 of us. We had our pics taken in groups of two...we were paired as winner and guest. After security Mike gives us the low down on rules we waited in this small stuffy room for the guys to arrive. They were about 10 minutes late ... no big deal. The whole thing was really fast as there were only five groups. We were allowed 1 item to be signed. I hugged Robby and John. I had them sign SSCW as it's my favorite album. I apologized to Mike for that since he wasn't really involved with the creation of it. He was really cool and told me not to worry about it. Robby and Mike were very friendly and chatty. John was friendly but very reserved....seemed uncomfortable. He also sounded like he had a cold or sinus infection ... just not himself and that may be why he was so reserved. Then we had our pic taken by the radio station and were told to leave. It was all very fast. They then wisked the guys off in a golf cart to the stage.

Onto the show ... most of the WOGers and AGers were right down in front of the stage .... go Kari, Barb, Teri, Laura, Gail and Michelle and everyone else who was there. We decided to go back to the Ford tent and hang there since it was more shaded and I had my kids ... I was really worried they'd overheat down on the course .... it was so unbelievably friggin' HOT!!!!!!! They played Big Machine, Slide, Think About Me, Smash, Tucked Away, Black Balloon, Dizzy, Name, Cuz You're Gone w/ 1000 Words, Sympathy, January Friend, Here Is Gone, What A Scene, We Are the Normal, Broadway, Iris and Give A Little Bit.

During Name John stopped half way through apologized to the crowd that he had to stop but he'd be back and took off running. He came back about 5 minutes later and apologized stating that he forgot to take care of some things before the show ... it was funny. So we got to hear Name almost twice. Sympathy he forgot the words to at the end and laughed through it. He then told everyone that those of us who have been long time fans know that that song is cursed and that next time he should have a telepromter so he can get it right. The highlight for me was hearing We Are The Normal. I've never heard that one live before so I was really excited about that. Those are the highlights of the day.

I had the privilege to meet many WOGer and AGers Saturday night and we had such a great time meeting each other and hanging out. I really wanted to come find you all on the grass but I was so hot at that point I just couldn't do it.

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by ShanGooFan on Jul 10th, 2005, 10:34pm
Here's some pictures from my view across the green. I only had my small zoomed digital because I didn't want to get caught with my good one. So these aren't close up but they're clear. My friend has some really good ones from the field that she'll probably share soon.

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid177/pb3bbf4fd19c43ad7d1f44fd6899c05b0/f3512702.jpg
http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid177/pf10fb11f0876e39c114cea0c79e8fc5e/f35126ad.jpg
http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid177/p7711792797949ce724b1a02616f96975/f351254d.jpg
http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid177/p903100ab55e0af001a7351e5995455c5/f35125d7.jpg

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by DreamAway22 on Jul 10th, 2005, 10:35pm
Ahhh!! Sounds like a great time! Congrats on meeting the band! Thanks for the pics!

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by SuzieGoo on Jul 10th, 2005, 10:35pm
Aww. YAY!!! Great review. Thanks for zipping on back over here and giving us the scoop! ;D

Sounds like a good time....We Are The Normal makes me cry when I hear it...especially live. I can remember getting goose bumps when I heard it in Vegas....so I completely agree with you. And Name is my very favorite song of ALL songs (not just Goo songs)!! So to hear it twice would be heaven.

I am glad you had a good time. I am sure you are still on that Live Goo High. :drama:

Thanks again,

~ Suz

**edit** WHOA!! Pictures showed up while I was replying.
:woohoo: :woohoo: :woohoo:

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by MethodInMadness on Jul 10th, 2005, 10:54pm
Ohhhhh! Nice review! I'm glad you had a good time!

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by nmf016 on Jul 10th, 2005, 10:57pm
Yay!  Glad you had a good time and that everything went well.  And thanks for sharing pictures (so quickly!)


on 07/10/05 at 22:29:13, ShanGooFan wrote:
The highlight for me was hearing We Are The Normal. I've never heard that one live before so I was really excited about that.


Are you sure about that?  I could swear they played WATN at the private show last summer...  maybe I'm crazy.  :D

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by ShanGooFan on Jul 10th, 2005, 11:00pm
You know meeting the guys and seeing the show is always great. But really the best part is meeting up with all the fans from here and AG. I honestly had so much fun at our get together on Saturday night. It was so nice to really get to know the people I talk with on here almost every day. Music just brings people together and that's the best part of all.

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by ShanGooFan on Jul 10th, 2005, 11:01pm

on 07/10/05 at 22:57:46, nmf016 wrote:
Yay! Glad you had a good time and that everything went well. And thanks for sharing pictures (so quickly!)


Are you sure about that? I could swear they played WATN at the private show last summer... maybe I'm crazy. :D

I don't think they played it at the Private Show ... they played it for LIB but I couldn't go to that so I missed it...I don't know maybe I'm wrong. I could have sworn they didn't play it because I was disappointed. Of course I could be just losing my mind ... lol

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by Skkyer on Jul 11th, 2005, 8:36am
The pictures are wonderful!  The writeup of the concert is really great.  Thank you for sharing all of this with us.  

Big Hugs!

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by Dream of Goo on Jul 11th, 2005, 9:08am
Hiya -
Thanks for sharing yr experience -
looking at the pictures its kinda how i imagined them on the golf course - its looks realllly hot - i think i would have been so drunk on the hot weather - heheh - today in the uk the weather is reallt hot and it isnt that sunny here usually so u know make the most of it but its  tooo hot - hehe. Thanks again.

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by LouAndNic on Jul 11th, 2005, 9:36am
Great review and pictures Shannon, thanks so much for sharing with us all so quickly!!

Really pleased to hear you had such a good time despite the heat and the relative quickness of the M'n'G.  Hope you enjoyed Keith as much! :D

Take care

L&N

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by ShanGooFan on Jul 11th, 2005, 9:43am
Hey Lou and Nic,

I saw Keith Urban Friday night. I'll try to get those pics up later today. I haven't had a chance to upload them yet. I have more of those then Goo because I was closer. But it takes a bit to upload. Check OT later for those. I have some really good ones.

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by Helengoo on Jul 11th, 2005, 11:45am
Ya the golf course was REALLY hot! Me and my friends were there from 10:30 or eleven that morning so my fat head is pretty toasted. I thought it was funny when all golfers kept refering to them as Go-Go Dolls. Ha! It happened twice when people were walking by. But the show was great even though some of the employees made me and my friends feel like crap. Oh well- what can ya do, huh? We were stuck BEHIND the green and were on the hill but since the stage was so high it wasn't so bad. The show was really good and we even had a bunch of tenny boppers screaming "We love you Johnny" behind us. Cute! It was good!

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by Livyanna on Jul 11th, 2005, 1:00pm
Hey Shannon!! We were thinking of you all day..wondering how things were for the privileged . We missed you, but I don't blame you ONE BIT. It was hot....damn hot. We were down in front, but we could only see John and Robby. I didn't even know if Greg was playing until he finally came to the front of the stage. It was great to meet you!

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by ShanGooFan on Jul 11th, 2005, 1:29pm
It was so great to meet you and your hubby too. I really wanted to hang out all day with you guys but the allure of food, drink, air conditioning and luxury bathrooms just kept me on the deck under the umbrella all day. But I really did miss visiting with you all yesterday...that's the biggest downside of the priviledged ;).

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by Iris74 on Jul 11th, 2005, 3:52pm
Thanks for the review and the pics.  LOL @ the leaving in the middle of the song thing.   Did Robby chat with you or was it silent?

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by ShanGooFan on Jul 11th, 2005, 4:23pm
Robby chatted but he's always friendly and happy. The whole thing was very rushed. There wasn't much time for chit chat really. I was finally able to tell them my name. I told Robby and John how I was at the private show last year but forgot to tell them my name and then I told them my name. Robby laughed. It was really just get your stuff signed, take your picture and leave...real fast.

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by Johns_chick on Jul 11th, 2005, 9:29pm
Souns like you had a great time man i missed a realy GOOd show  :( Thanks for the pics they are great!!!!!!! ;D

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by jovi_goo on Jul 11th, 2005, 10:35pm
Thans for sharing your pictures and review :)  I can't wait 'til I get me some live Goo again!!!!  So did they who replaced Jason?

-Kelly

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by Iris74 on Jul 12th, 2005, 3:48pm

on 07/11/05 at 16:23:36, ShanGooFan wrote:
Robby chatted but he's always friendly and happy. The whole thing was very rushed. There wasn't much time for chit chat really. I was finally able to tell them my name. I told Robby and John how I was at the private show last year but forgot to tell them my name and then I told them my name. Robby laughed. It was really just get your stuff signed, take your picture and leave...real fast.


Yeah, he seems like such a happy go lucky person.  I'd be happy just to get a picture someday.  :)  (Talking isn't my strong suit anyway)

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by babsil30 on Jul 12th, 2005, 7:34pm
so THAT's what the stage looked like! ROFL!


it was great meeting you shannon! and tripper! and OMG, everyone else that was there at the BBQ and those surround us on the 18th green! :woohoo:

absolutely amazing!!! *still on cloud 9*

-Babs

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by ShanGooFan on Jul 12th, 2005, 7:45pm
LOL Barb. Did you see Livyanna's pics yet? I said ... so that's what the guys looked like at that angle ;) Boy they had to get right at the edge to see you all.

I had the best time with you all on Saturday night. Thank you again Michelle and Chris for offering your home to us. You are definitely the hostesses with the mostest ;D I only wish I could have hung out with you more before or after the show. I guess we'll just have to plan for next time :P

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by MethodInMadness on Jul 12th, 2005, 8:34pm

on 07/10/05 at 23:00:16, ShanGooFan wrote:
You know meeting the guys and seeing the show is always great. But really the best part is meeting up with all the fans from here and AG. I honestly had so much fun at our get together on Saturday night. It was so nice to really get to know the people I talk with on here almost every day. Music just brings people together and that's the best part of all.


How did you meet up with ppl from the board? Did you guys plan it before or soemthing? That sounds really cool.

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by babsil30 on Jul 12th, 2005, 9:23pm

on 07/12/05 at 19:45:33, ShanGooFan wrote:
LOL Barb. Did you see Livyanna's pics yet? I said ... so that's what the guys looked like at that angle ;) Boy they had to get right at the edge to see you all.

I had the best time with you all on Saturday night. Thank you again Michelle and Chris for offering your home to us. You are definitely the hostesses with the mostest ;D I only wish I could have hung out with you more before or after the show. I guess we'll just have to plan for next time :P



no! what pics? where? LOL i'm sooooo still on a goo high! woohoo! 48 hours later and i'm still floating! :woohoo: LOL

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by babsil30 on Jul 12th, 2005, 9:25pm

on 07/12/05 at 20:34:41, MethodInMadness wrote:
How did you meet up with ppl from the board? Did you guys plan it before or soemthing? That sounds really cool.


my friend Michelle, who I know from bonjovi.com message boards lives in dearborn... and she was so incredibly sweet, along with her husband, hosted a rocking BBQ! it was so awesome!

Michelle was gracious enough when I asked, "Can I invite some of my goo buddies?" and she said' sure, we'll have a BBQ" and OMG, we did! the food was outstanding! the company was even better! LOL

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by ShanGooFan on Jul 13th, 2005, 9:17am

on 07/12/05 at 21:23:05, babsil30 wrote:
no! what pics? where? LOL i'm sooooo still on a goo high! woohoo! 48 hours later and i'm still floating! :woohoo: LOL

Livyanna's pics are phenomenal. They are up on AGs board.

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by Country on Jul 13th, 2005, 9:50am
 Nice review of the show Shannon !  ;)
Guess i wont be sharing my pictures for awhile ..
When i got home my camera wouldnt work at all !  :(
So i cant load the pix from my camera .
 Im gonna take the cards in today and see if they can put them on a cd .
 Guess i have to buy a new camera now !  :-[

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by babsil30 on Jul 13th, 2005, 10:00am

on 07/13/05 at 09:17:09, ShanGooFan wrote:
Livyanna's pics are phenomenal. They are up on AGs board.


you know what? i'm such a dork! I did see those photos but I saw them on her camera! ROFLMAO!  I forgot that we happened to be at "Cheli's" or something like that on Sunday night and I remember swiping her camera and running over to Erin... "LOOK! Told ya he has green shoes"  ROFL


Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by ShanGooFan on Jul 13th, 2005, 1:27pm
Yes, they were very green. That was the first thing we noticed in the m&g.

I wished we would have found you after the show. I would have loved to have hung out with you at Chelios'. That would have been a blast.

Country, too bad about your camera. I hope everything works out and you can retreive your photos ... they were phenomenal as usual. I'm glad you made it home safely.

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by JaniGoo on Jul 13th, 2005, 7:43pm
Shan,
Thanks for the great review and pics! Can't wait for the new album and esp. the tour. You had a little "treat" in between! Can't wait to see them again!  :nanner:

Title: Re: M&G, show and pics
Post by goober_1013 on Jul 14th, 2005, 9:32pm
awesome review!  it is always great to put a face a name on a message board. . .with all these reviews floating around, i can't wait 'til their next tour. . . ;D



The World of Goo Boards » Powered by YaBB 1 Gold - SP 1.3.1!
YaBB 2000-2003. All Rights Reserved.