The World of Goo Boards (http://www.musicfanclubs.org/cgi-bin/ggd/YaBB.cgi)
Off Topic Board >> Archived Concert Review and Fan Pictures Forum >> Back by popular demand--MOI!
(Message started by: Goofan_becky on Jul 11th, 2004, 10:09pm)

Title: Back by popular demand--MOI!
Post by Goofan_becky on Jul 11th, 2004, 10:09pm
~OK... I'm doing this in 2 segments, I apologize for length~

HEY HEY HEY!

What can I say... Its GOOd to be back!  I would have posted so much sooner, BUT I dont know my password!  I can only sign in my computer at home cuz my pass is saved.  I was away on vacation in Ohio until earlier this evening, and have been catching up on some WOG reading.  It is good to be home in VT! :)

Did I hear a request for my review? I think so!! Here it comes.  I hope you are sitting down and prepared.  I am going to TRY to repeat nothing and keep this fairly brief, but WOW did it have fantabulous time!

OK! SATURDAY:
After a 7-hour westward drive, my mother and I arrived in Buffalo, NY!  We got settled into the Holiday Inn in downtown and got ready to go to dinner with my mom's Bon Jovi friend, Colleen.  First we were going to go to Anchor Bar, but Colleen decided to go to this other wing place, but I cant remember the name.  I mentioned how the goos like Duff's, and she said "Do you wanna go to Duff's?"  I didnt want to change the plans she had made, but I really wanted to go, so guess where we ended up going? DUFF'S!  That Colleen is such a nice woman! :)  So we are in the middle of our wings (which I liked, my first REAL Buffalo wings) and she points behind me and says, "Look a camera!" Someone was filming! At first I was like 'I see no Goos" but then I remembered that they were shooting about Buffalo and places there, so I got excited and my heart started to race, for no REAL reason.  Suddenly, the reason GOT real.  I looked behind me and saw MIKE!!! You read right, MIKE!!  I gasped- trust me, you havent heard a person gasp until you've heard me- and my heart began racing even faster.  I thought I was gonna pass out!  You gotta understand, Mike is the only Goo I have not yet met! So I am nervous, which is weird cuz I wasnt nervous for John and Robby, but then again that was a meet and greet, I had to approach Mike.  Well, I got up the nerve, and went over.  (He was just getting there, we were there first)So I said "Um Mike, can I get a picture with you?"  At least I THINK thats what I said...  Its tough to remember.  So his reply? “Yeah, just few seconds okay?”  (Again, not the EXACT quote, but you’ll understand, I’m sure)  He goes over to his table… probably to claim it or set down his stuff or something. Then he came over and just SAT DOWN right at my table! It was so cool, I couldn’t believe it.  I told him my mom was a runner, so they had a mini conversation about marathons, something like :
     Me: My mom has run like three marathons
     Mike: (to my mom) Oh really, so have I!
     My mom: Yeah, whats really fun is miles 20-25
     Mike: That’s the best!
Of course, not exact, but pretty close!  I got a pic - which turned out AWESOME! But I cant scan it L so you cant see it L - and I didn’t bring anything gooey with me because I wasn’t expecting to see them.  So he signed a napkin for me… he was SOOOOOO nice! The napkin got thrown out later!!!! Grrr…. But I dug through the trash to find it.  This was at home, not at the restaurant lol!  Then, I remembered, I made this note type things and they are each a couple pages of questions, mostly fun questions but some serious ones too for each of the guys.  So I grabbed Mike’s and was gonna give it to him, but I was going to wait until he was ready to leave, because I didn’t want to interrupt his dinner, I think that’s rude.  So while we were waiting, Colleen suggested I give him all three, because chances are I wont get to meet John and Robby.  GOOD IDEA! Of course I took her advice.  As Mike was getting up to leave, Colleen and I went up to him, and I said, “I hate to bother you again, but I have these things, and there’s one for you and one for John and Robby, so if you could just give them those for me….” I trailed off and he said, now this quote I remember! “I will definitely do that for you!”  HOW NICE! Seriously, Mike ROCKS!  He was so nice, and here comes my shallow comment that he is VERY good looking in person.  My mom took a pic of me giving him the questions.  Both of the pics from Duff’s came out AWESOME and I framed the one of me and Mike together. So we left right after Mike, we waited a couple minutes, cuz we didn’t want to make it seem like we were following him lol. The rest (Sunday) is coming very soon!

Title: Re: Back by popular demand--MOI!
Post by BFLOg00gurl2oo on Jul 11th, 2004, 10:16pm
omg that is WAY too cool!  that goo ESP must have been working over time to make you go to duffs then... sounds like it was so awesome!
can't wait to hear the rest

Title: Re: Back by popular demand--MOI!
Post by FizzyGoo on Jul 11th, 2004, 10:17pm
WOOOOWWW!!!!!!!!

You are one lucky chica, chica!

Title: Re: Back by popular demand--MOI!
Post by ShanGooFan on Jul 11th, 2004, 10:18pm
Geez that's awesome! I never have that kind of luck. I can't wait to hear the rest of your story.

Title: Re: Back by popular demand--MOI!
Post by Goofan_becky on Jul 11th, 2004, 10:26pm
SUNDAY :
We got to Niagara Square at about 9:45 and met some really nice people that we ended up spending much of the day with. And I did meet 2 new-to-me WOGers, LandOfOzGooFan and Iris74 and they were both SO NICE so thanks to you for being nice and listening to me talk! Lol  And I did re-meet Myshele who was also uber nice! J  OK… trying not to repeat…. New stuff, new stuff… my new goo friends (non WOGers) that I met, don’t know how to spell their names, and I met a cute security guard, but you don’t wanna hear about that, its off topic, but it helped pass the time lol.  I did make eye contact with both John and Robby, and when it was with Robby, it was right after he made a face and I was laughing really hard and he saw and gave me this look like “someone had to do it” with a  shrug! It was sooo cool! J  We had tickets to the after party at the Statler place but we ended up not going.  I was really upset cuz I HATE to pass up GOOd opportunities.  I didn’t get over it until I found out that the Goos weren’t even there.  It would have been a lot of fun, but at least now I can move on LOL!  My pictures of the concert didn’t really come out, even though I was at row 1-½, but I was on the rail for the encore because the girl in front of me left.  I didn’t sing to Sympathy because I love it so much and it was kind of one of those moments when you think “This has GOT to be my favorite Goo song” but then you have to consider other favorites you have not heard live.  But I think excluding Stop the World because I have not heard it live, Sympathy beats most other Goo songs.  BUT ITS CLOSE!  

So… that’s my story… I don’t think I forgot anything unique to me…;) Sorry so long, but I really hope you enjoyed it and it was worth the wait!

Title: Re: Back by popular demand--MOI!
Post by googoodarling on Jul 12th, 2004, 10:02am
Great to hear that you had a blast in Buffalo and enjoyed meeting Mike.  I agree - yes, he is a great guy and yes, he is quite handsome!!

:)

Title: Re: Back by popular demand--MOI!
Post by JaniGoo on Jul 12th, 2004, 10:02am
Thanks for your review, Becky! Congrats on meeting Mike!

Title: Re: Back by popular demand--MOI!
Post by johnnyisgod on Jul 12th, 2004, 10:08am
sounds like so much fun!! mike is the sweetest guy! thanks for the review :)

Title: Re: Back by popular demand--MOI!
Post by MBMGrand on Jul 12th, 2004, 11:21am
What a cool Mike encounter, he is so awesome! When we were getting our pictures during the 6/30 event I got to sit next to him and he was very cool! :D And just think-if you'd gone to the Anchor Bar you wouldn't have seen him!

I'm so happy for you that you got to be so close during the show! Thanks so much for your cool review! :)

Title: Re: Back by popular demand--MOI!
Post by Linda on Jul 12th, 2004, 11:47am
Great review and awesome Mike story...along with the saga of the missing Mike napkin! Did you find it again after digging thru the trash? I sure hope so!

I hope you're able to post your pic with Mike-how cool is that?  8)

Title: Re: Back by popular demand--MOI!
Post by Silvergirl on Jul 12th, 2004, 2:08pm
Kudos for your reveiw!!!!


Thanks for sharing doll ;D ;D ;D ;D

Title: Re: Back by popular demand--MOI!
Post by howGOOdamI on Jul 12th, 2004, 3:13pm

on 07/12/04 at 11:21:26, MBMGrand wrote:
What a cool Mike encounter, he is so awesome! When we were getting our pictures during the 6/30 event I got to sit next to him and he was very cool! :D And just think-if you'd gone to the Anchor Bar you wouldn't have seen him!


Phooey...we were at the Anchor!  Figures!  Whose idea was that one?!?!?  LOL just kidding!

I have to say that the Buffalo wings we got were so damn hot, I could only eat four and my lips were burning off after the first one.  YUMMY!!!

Title: Re: Back by popular demand--MOI!
Post by januaryfriend27 on Jul 12th, 2004, 3:48pm
Awesome review Becky. That Mike...what a guy!  ;)

Title: Re: Back by popular demand--MOI!
Post by Goofan_becky on Jul 12th, 2004, 3:53pm

on 07/12/04 at 11:47:27, Linda wrote:
Great review and awesome Mike story...along with the saga of the missing Mike napkin! Did you find it again after digging thru the trash? I sure hope so!

I hope you're able to post your pic with Mike-how cool is that?  8)

Yeah, I really did have to go through the garbage to get the napkin back, but luckily it was not very far down....

Title: Re: Back by popular demand--MOI!
Post by True2Goo on Jul 12th, 2004, 4:11pm
Beck, I'm so happy for you!! That's so cool that Mike came and sat down at your table! I would have been dying  :faint: you GO GIRL!  :carrot:

Title: Re: Back by popular demand--MOI!
Post by Iris74 on Jul 12th, 2004, 5:23pm
Hey! She's BAAACK!  Our celebrity of the moment. ;)    Ya know what makes me SOO jealous?  I went to Duff's on that Saturday too and had some great wings, but *sigh* no Mike.  It's all in the timing, you lucky girl!  :-*   I'm still waiting for my first Goo meet.  (But I'm determined, it WILL happen.  Probably Robby since he's the one I end up seeing the most of)  Glad you got your napkin back!

You were super nice too!  And probably the only WOG'er I met that day that I remembered the board name for.   ;D

Title: Re: Back by popular demand--MOI!
Post by Goofan_becky on Jul 12th, 2004, 6:06pm

on 07/12/04 at 17:23:03, Iris74 wrote:
Hey! She's BAAACK!  Our celebrity of the moment. ;)    Ya know what makes me SOO jealous?  I went to Duff's on that Saturday too and had some great wings, but *sigh* no Mike.  It's all in the timing, you lucky girl!  :-*   I'm still waiting for my first Goo meet.  (But I'm determined, it WILL happen.  Probably Robby since he's the one I end up seeing the most of)  Glad you got your napkin back!

You were super nice too!  And probably the only WOG'er I met that day that I remembered the board name for.   ;D


We were there 8:30ish... when were you there?

And my screen name is very easy to remember ;)

Title: Re: Back by popular demand--MOI!
Post by LandofOzGooFan on Jul 12th, 2004, 9:48pm
Great review Becky, definitely worth the wait!  :D You are so sweet you deserved to have Mike sit at your table, what a weekend!  :)

Title: Re: Back by popular demand--MOI!
Post by Iris74 on Jul 13th, 2004, 6:26pm

on 07/12/04 at 18:06:39, Goofan_becky wrote:
We were there 8:30ish... when were you there?

And my screen name is very easy to remember ;)


Around 5- ish.    I had plans to meet up with LandofOz that night (which I did)  so we had an early dinner.

You're right, VERY easy to remember, and short enough I might type the whole thing someday...or not.  ;)



The World of Goo Boards » Powered by YaBB 1 Gold - SP 1.3.1!
YaBB © 2000-2003. All Rights Reserved.