The World of Goo Boards (http://www.musicfanclubs.org/cgi-bin/ggd/YaBB.cgi)
Off Topic Board >> Archived Concert Review and Fan Pictures Forum >> Polish Guys Kick Ass! ... My Review
(Message started by: LandofOzGooFan on Jul 6th, 2004, 7:06pm)

Title: Polish Guys Kick Ass! ... My Review
Post by LandofOzGooFan on Jul 6th, 2004, 7:06pm
WooHoo! What a show! I have been reading all the great reviews and will try not to repeat anything...First off, who else was there from Kansas? When John read that sign I about flipped because I thought me and my Hubby were the only ones there from Kansas! Anyway, if any of you heard the silly radio station "the edge" clip about you're not in Kansas anymore...that was me they were talking to standing at the damn gate waiting to get back in. Too funny! The "Polish Guys Kick Ass" sign was mine! I thought JR would think it was funny and I guess he did.  :claps: Somehow, (through no violent means I promise) I made it up to the front (and I mean front and center!) after the sprint from the gates and I was thrilled because several of us (Myshele, Diane, Zuzanna, Hubby, my Goo buddy Iris74 and her brother) had gotten there at about 6:10am that morning just to get kicked out later. Anyway we all helped make signs and everyone at the rail in the AM signed my beachball, including the very sweet security guards who had been there all night! I intended to throw it onstage but the guards at the gate made us deflate it so it stayed in my backpack and came back to KS. Hopefully, you will see some of the signs on the DVD...Myshele and I held up the following signs..."Feel The Goo Love" was the first sign, the camera guy saw it ahead of time and ask me to hold it up the first couple of songs so he could get a shot of it so... (if I am in the shot I hope to GOD they airbrush me because I am sure I looked like a drowned rat!) anygoo, other signs were "Robby Rocks!", "Let's Get Political", "Polish Guys Kick Ass" (which also had a little purple guitar drawn on it, Thanks to Myshele for drawing my sign and anyone who helped color them in!) and "Mike Speak To Us!"  I only got to hold the Mike sign up for a minute before the downpour so I don't know if he saw it. :-/ Also, I did have on the "Red, White and Goo" tank top, I tried to look for other Woggers but...it was a little crowded.  ;)       To Be Continued...in just a few gotta go eat!  :)

Title: Re: Polish Guys Kick Ass! ... My Review
Post by LandofOzGooFan on Jul 6th, 2004, 8:20pm
OK, here's the rest of the story!  My Hubby was behind me and trying to make sure we didn't get killed but I think this might be his last GA show or free show.   ;D I was just blown away by the Goo's performance and the fact that they didn't abandon us just makes me think they are the BEST! Everyone yelling "You Sing" at the same time as JR should be pretty funny if it makes the DVD! Robby was jumping around so much, Myshele and I just had to jump too and it was great to hear Tucked Away! 1000 Words well...took my breath away! The songs just seemed to fit with the weather didn't they? Two Days in February was perfect! JR's statement before Sympathy..."This is something we all need but should never ask for" I love that, it is so true! Robby and John were so on and it was great to see them come together like that for the show, I too thought that somehow the bad weather just made it perfect. Anyway, it was great to meet some of you WOGGERs and thanks to Goofan Becky for introducing yourself and sharing your pics and Mike story! Oh, and what the hell happened to Silvergirl?? Teri, did you ever make it back from the Falls?? I hope everyone had a great time and for one more weather incident...on the way back to Kansas we hit a Tornado warning in Illinois and took cover at a small town Methodist Church! Talk about surreal, anyway we all made it home safe and exhausted but on a Goo high!  :)

Title: Re: Polish Guys Kick Ass! ... My Review
Post by crazygirl_412 on Jul 6th, 2004, 8:38pm
;D glad to hear you had fun too! i LOVED your polish guys kick ass sign haha esp. when he was like "whats on the other side...oh polish guys kick ass" haha that was great! :)..and dont worry...we all looked like drowned rats :P
-amanda

Title: Re: Polish Guys Kick Ass! ... My Review
Post by Silvergirl on Jul 6th, 2004, 8:50pm
OMG~ yes i did...i tell ya you should have made it to TGIF lol,  Rose was there, Marissa, Christina, Denise, Karen and her angel of a hubbie Kevin, the petite girl ti cant remember your name (sorry) Laura and myself

we all met on sunday at our assigned gates, and my god did we run
can you imagine grown women running we must of looked like suck dorks!!!

Teri

Title: Re: Polish Guys Kick Ass! ... My Review
Post by howGOOdamI on Jul 6th, 2004, 9:14pm

on 07/06/04 at 20:50:18, Silvergirl wrote:
OMG~ yes i did...i tell ya you should have made it to TGIF lol, Rose was there, Marissa, Christina, Denise, Karen and her angel of a hubbie Kevin, the petite girl ti cant remember your name (sorry) Laura and myself

we all met on sunday at our assigned gates, and my god did we run
can you imagine grown women running we must of looked like suck dorks!!!

Teri


ahhhh...TGIF...nothin' like that Ultimate Lemonade. Hit me right where it counted! LOL

Petite Girl = Kristen aka SupaGoo

After that we went to Anchor Bar with Kevin and Karen and got us some real Buffalo wings. My mouth will never be the same, I think my lips STILL burn!! Thems was goooooood!!!!!!!!

Even if it was Shitsville! :hahaha:

Title: Re: Polish Guys Kick Ass! ... My Review
Post by SupaGoo on Jul 6th, 2004, 9:23pm

on 07/06/04 at 20:50:18, Silvergirl wrote:
OMG~ yes i did...i tell ya you should have made it to TGIF lol, Rose was there, Marissa, Christina, Denise, Karen and her angel of a hubbie Kevin, the petite girl ti cant remember your name (sorry) Laura and myself

we all met on sunday at our assigned gates, and my god did we run
can you imagine grown women running we must of looked like suck dorks!!!

Teri


Really feeling the love, Teri ;) :p Just kidding..I don't think I told you my name...was great meeting you!

Christina- I still can't believe you asked the cop about shitsville...LMAO...

Title: Re: Polish Guys Kick Ass! ... My Review
Post by LandofOzGooFan on Jul 6th, 2004, 9:42pm
Teri-You Goof! and I mean that in a Goo way.  ;) I was at TGIF (with Rose) from about 4:15 to 5pm and then we went down to the free concerts (not Rose, she stayed at TGIF)! I am glad you all had fun, I wanted to go to Duff's but couldn't talk the others into it so...no wings for me and I was in Buffalo, that is just wrong!  :)

Title: Re: Polish Guys Kick Ass! ... My Review
Post by JaniGoo on Jul 7th, 2004, 7:41am
Thanks for your review! Hope your signs get on the DVD!

Title: Re: Polish Guys Kick Ass! ... My Review
Post by MBMGrand on Jul 7th, 2004, 11:28am
Thanks for the review! Sounds like you had lots of fun! :D

Title: Re: Polish Guys Kick Ass! ... My Review
Post by Iris74 on Jul 7th, 2004, 6:35pm
WHAT?  That wasn't your "I'm from Kansas" sign?   :o   As far as it being your hubby's last GA show, I think it might be my brother's too.  He's never gonna forgive me for making him get up at a ridiculous hour and then have to RUN to get a decent spot later in the day.  (Of course, I might never forgive him for losing his rail spot either, so we're even!)

My highlight has to be when John fell to his knees & was  singing (I THINK it was 1000 words?) over on Robby's side for what felt like an ETERNITY.  He was RIGHT there!  I was singing and dancing the whole night EXCEPT for that moment.  I was struck dumb and that never happens to me.  I've been up front at Goo shows before.   ;D

Title: Re: Polish Guys Kick Ass! ... My Review
Post by LandofOzGooFan on Jul 7th, 2004, 8:33pm

on 07/07/04 at 18:35:57, Iris74 wrote:
My highlight has to be when John fell to his knees & was singing (I THINK it was 1000 words?) over on Robby's side for what felt like an ETERNITY. He was RIGHT there! I was singing and dancing the whole night EXCEPT for that moment. I was struck dumb and that never happens to me. I've been up front at Goo shows before. ;D


That was stunning wasn't it! His face had so much emotion on it and that passionate voice...God!  :drama:

Title: Re: Polish Guys Kick Ass! ... My Review
Post by BFLOg00gurl2oo on Jul 8th, 2004, 2:47pm
omg that was you!?  i was to the left of you guys... right near those people who asked you for the paper to make a sign.. haha how cool!

Title: Re: Polish Guys Kick Ass! ... My Review
Post by SuzieGoo on Jul 8th, 2004, 2:54pm

on 07/07/04 at 18:35:57, Iris74 wrote:
My highlight has to be when John fell to his knees & was singing (I THINK it was 1000 words?) over on Robby's side for what felt like an ETERNITY. He was RIGHT there! I was singing and dancing the whole night EXCEPT for that moment. I was struck dumb and that never happens to me. I've been up front at Goo shows before. ;D


I know it!! RIGHT into the CAMERA!  THAT is gonna kill us on the DVD!!  I just know that I am gonna melt..... :drama:

~ Suz



Title: Re: Polish Guys Kick Ass! ... My Review
Post by Iris74 on Jul 9th, 2004, 2:58pm

on 07/07/04 at 20:33:44, LandofOzGooFan wrote:
That was stunning wasn't it! His face had so much emotion on it and that passionate voice...God! :drama:



Words can't BEGIN to describe it! Stunning I guess is about as good as anything, maybe absolutely, positively, impossibly, wonderfully incredible! :o sums it up...I'm not sure that's even enough!

I'm not even sure video is going to give the moment justice, but I HOPE to GOD that IS on the DVD somewhere.



The World of Goo Boards » Powered by YaBB 1 Gold - SP 1.3.1!
YaBB 2000-2003. All Rights Reserved.