WOG logo

Welcome, Guest. Please Login.
Oct 19th, 2017, 12:38am




WOG banner
Banner by laurengoo


WOG link calendar link
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
The World of Goo Boards « Re: ATTN: Name Change...Part II »


   The World of Goo Boards
   Goo Goo Dolls
   Goo Goo Dolls
(Moderators: Shannon, Adela)
   Re: ATTN: Name Change...Part II
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 ... 54 55 56 57 58  ...  131 Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Re: ATTN: Name Change...Part II  (Read 59099 times)
Nicole
Goo God
*****






   
View Profile

Gender: female
Posts: 1920
Re: ATTN: Name Change...Part II
« Reply #550 on: Apr 9th, 2007, 5:47pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

My dogs like to eat the pieces of horse hooves after they've been trimmed.  
It is rather disgusting.
IP Logged
d.e.n.i.s.e.
Goo God
*****



aka "the orange o"

   
View Profile

Gender: female
Posts: 1086
Re: ATTN: Name Change...Part II
« Reply #551 on: Apr 9th, 2007, 6:03pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

on Apr 9th, 2007, 3:05pm, nmf016 wrote:
Okay... a little lesson in urban myths.
 
I happen to have some peeps sitting in my kitchen.  So I read the ingredients.  The only thing that has animal product is the gelatin.  Gelatin comes from animal skin and tissue, NOT hooves.  Hooves are keratin, which is the same as your fingernails and not used for much of anything.  So yes, peeps are not vegetarian friendly, but they only have gelatin, which is found in most jellies, ice cream, yogurt, margarine, cream cheese, juice, vinegar,  and beer.
 
But I'd still eat a animal hoof if it tasted like a peep.
 
 

 
I was referring to the gelatin in peeps, when I mentioned hooves. Saying hooves usually has a more powerful impact than mentioning gelatin, lol.  
 
When researching gelatin a while back, I found references that it was one of those ingredients that is sometimes made with skin and tissue, or bones, hooves and other assorted left-over parts, if you will. So, I believe it's like "olive loaf" they use whatever they have lying around.
 
There is even Kosher gelatin called "Parve" which some consider vegetarian because it has been boiled down so much that you can no longer determine what it originally was.  
 
But I guess to me as long as I know it's not veggie, it doesn't matter if it's skin, tissue, bones, hooves or eyeballs, I'm not eating it...
 
gelatin:  animal protein substance having gel-forming properties, used primarily in food products and home cookery, also having various industrial uses. Derived from collagen, a protein found in animal skin and bone, it is extracted by boiling animal hides, skins, bones, and tissue after alkali or acid pretreatment. An easily digested, pure protein food, it is nutritionally…
 
http://www.britannica.com/eb/article-9036319/gelatin
 
And yes, DWG Veggies DO rule... lol...
« Last Edit: Apr 9th, 2007, 6:05pm by d.e.n.i.s.e. » IP Logged

[img][/img]
d.e.n.i.s.e.
Goo God
*****



aka "the orange o"

   
View Profile

Gender: female
Posts: 1086
Re: ATTN: Name Change...Part II
« Reply #552 on: Apr 9th, 2007, 6:07pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

on Apr 9th, 2007, 5:41pm, Shannon wrote:
I didn't know that about gelatin either. I think I was better off being naive about it all....lol

 
 
Sorry about that...lol...
 
You'd probably be surprised at a lot of the stuff you eat...lol...
IP Logged

[img][/img]
d.e.n.i.s.e.
Goo God
*****



aka "the orange o"

   
View Profile

Gender: female
Posts: 1086
Re: ATTN: Name Change...Part II
« Reply #553 on: Apr 9th, 2007, 6:08pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Stuck in the gelatin...
 
...or...
 
caught in the breakdown....
IP Logged

[img][/img]
nmf016
Thread Killer
Goo God
*****




Slashephant

    blurb900
View Profile

Posts: 3680
Re: ATTN: Name Change...Part II
« Reply #554 on: Apr 9th, 2007, 9:06pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

on Apr 9th, 2007, 3:42pm, Drew wrote:
Not true! I took a picture of my Peeps box here it is:
 

 
Hands down, the worst MS paint job ever.  That 4 line "Ingredients" is sooooo Paint it's not even funny.
« Last Edit: Apr 9th, 2007, 9:07pm by nmf016 » IP Logged
zomg
Goo God
*****






   
View Profile

Posts: 1105
Re: ATTN: Name Change...Part II
« Reply #555 on: Apr 9th, 2007, 9:09pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Priceless. Smiley
 
My goal in life is to change my name at least once a week to cause mass confusion in the Name Change thread.
« Last Edit: Apr 9th, 2007, 9:10pm by zomg » IP Logged
Nicole
Goo God
*****






   
View Profile

Gender: female
Posts: 1920
Re: ATTN: Name Change...Part II
« Reply #556 on: Apr 9th, 2007, 9:16pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I need a new avatar. Any ideas?
IP Logged
nmf016
Thread Killer
Goo God
*****




Slashephant

    blurb900
View Profile

Posts: 3680
Re: ATTN: Name Change...Part II
« Reply #557 on: Apr 9th, 2007, 9:27pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

on Apr 9th, 2007, 6:03pm, another ego wrote:

 
I was referring to the gelatin in peeps, when I mentioned hooves. Saying hooves usually has a more powerful impact than mentioning gelatin, lol.

 
I guess this is really bothers me.  A quick search of "hooves in gelatin" results in a lot of pages of people asking "Are there hooves in gelatin?", but no credible source saying that there are actually hooves used in gelatin.  Because there isn't any.  Judging by my Google search, I guess it's a common thing to say it to leave an impact, but all it results in is a bunch of misinformed people.
 
Quote:
When researching gelatin a while back, I found references that it was one of those ingredients that is sometimes made with skin and tissue, or bones, hooves and other assorted left-over parts, if you will. So, I believe it's like "olive loaf" they use whatever they have lying around.

 
It's not actually made with the parts.  Like, there's not ground up bone in gelatin.  Boiling the skin, tendons, bones, whatever, just brings the collagen or gelatin out of those parts.  And it's not that whatever is lying around is used, it's just that those are the ONLY places to get it.  Wanting steak and getting scraps that are lying around is "olive loaf".  Pulling gelatin out of bone, etc, is the only option.  There's not a 'better' place to get it from.
 
Quote:
There is even Kosher gelatin called "Parve" which some consider vegetarian because it has been boiled down so much that you can no longer determine what it originally was.  

 
Okay, this creeps me out.  I'd rather be able to determine where my food is coming from then go "Eh, I don't know what this is, in the mouth it goes!"
 
*This is in no way an attempt to tell anyone that what they eat is wrong or right.  I don't care if you eat meat, don't eat meat, or live on a steady diet of Vault.
IP Logged
nmf016
Thread Killer
Goo God
*****




Slashephant

    blurb900
View Profile

Posts: 3680
Re: ATTN: Name Change...Part II
« Reply #558 on: Apr 9th, 2007, 9:34pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

on Apr 9th, 2007, 9:16pm, Nicole wrote:
I need a new avatar. Any ideas?

 
I don't know... but you just inspired me to bring back my original avatar.
 
Mike, you make me proud.  And your name is always so well related to the current Name Change events.
« Last Edit: Apr 9th, 2007, 9:37pm by nmf016 » IP Logged
nmf016
Thread Killer
Goo God
*****




Slashephant

    blurb900
View Profile

Posts: 3680
Re: ATTN: Name Change...Part II
« Reply #559 on: Apr 9th, 2007, 9:35pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

on Apr 9th, 2007, 7:09pm, Drew wrote:

 
How did you get the big peep picture?  I shrunk them all for you.
IP Logged
Pages: 1 ... 54 55 56 57 58  ...  131 Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print

« Previous topic | Next topic »



Off Topic Board

Goo Goo Dolls Board


If you need to email...googoodolls@musicfanclubs.org or ShannonWOG@aol.com
Attachments are never sent out with these email addresses.




The World of Goo Boards » Powered by YaBB 1 Gold - SP 1.3.1!
YaBB © 2000-2003. All Rights Reserved.

[MFC]